DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Switch rewiring help (adding a swtich)




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2011, 11:35 PM  
Dimeron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Default Switch rewiring help (adding a swtich)

Hello, just wondering if anyone can help me with this, here's the current situation.

For my powder room, one switch is used to control both the fan and the lights. It is a simple two way switch. In the switch box, I have.

2 black wires joined together, the resulting single wire is connected to one of the switch's screws.

1 single red wire, the red wire is connected to the switch's other wire.

2 white wires (ground), which are capped together.

2 bronze wires that are screwed to the switch box itself.

Now, I wish to alter it so both the fan and the light gets its own switch, so instead of one switch that controls both I will have two switches, one for light and one for the fan. So far I figure that:

The white wires can be left capped together
the 2 bronze wires will be screwed to the new switch box that is big enough for two switches
The black wires need to be separated again, each black wire corresponds to the light or the fan.

but I'm at complete lose on how to handle the red wire, since the red wire is the other hot wire for the switch.

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.



__________________

Last edited by Dimeron; 01-03-2011 at 11:41 PM.
Dimeron is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2011, 11:57 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,778
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1367

Default

copper is ground conected to box yes
whites are nuetral all tied together
it sounds like your red is hot and the two black are the light and fan
If I am right you would have a black to each switch and
join 2 wires to the red and one to each switch other screw.


usually when you find a red wire there will be hot black wire there too. It will be on a different breaker so be carefull. the 2 breakers {should }be tied together
To save wire the use a 3 wire ,2 circuts using one common and one ground



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2011, 06:50 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 948
Liked 100 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Sounds like you have a unswitched feed leaving that box. You may not be able to do this without a new cable to the fan/light. You need to open the fan/light and tell us the wiring up there.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2011, 03:41 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,181
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

In addition to the info. JoeD requested, we would also benefit from knowing which wire is hot with the switch turned off (the blacks or the red).
I'm kinda thinkin nealtw has figured out what is going on.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2011, 04:23 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,778
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1367

Default

It would be good to know the colours of wires in light and fan .
The black could be live feeding a plug or??
I would like to here another 2 black wires tied together in the back of the first box.
There should be a reason for a red wire!!

__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2011, 03:14 PM  
Parrothead
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , WI
Posts: 65
Likes Given: 1

Default

Without further information, I am guessing that the OP has it backwards, and the two blacks are hot and the the red is the only switched wire going to both the fan and light. If this is the case, another wire would have to be fished to the fan/light to provide the additional switching.

__________________
Parrothead is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2011, 03:26 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,778
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1367

Default

we need Dimeron to tell us what he has found. I suspect he has it finnished and forgot about us.



__________________
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
rewiring a old house dtnagle Electrical and Wiring 12 05-01-2013 07:57 AM
adding switch and light at end of circuit half.italian Electrical and Wiring 10 01-03-2010 10:28 PM
adding a second switch Ronniebaby Electrical and Wiring 4 10-24-2009 06:18 AM
What should I ask the electrician about rewiring? Feisty Electrical and Wiring 2 05-08-2008 12:55 PM
adding 4-way switch bethany14 Electrical and Wiring 5 01-12-2007 05:32 PM