DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Tapping into Existing Phone Line




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2011, 10:48 AM  
Moony_Lupin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Default Tapping into Existing Phone Line

Hi Guys!

I'm finishing out our basement (finally!) and I want to tie into our existing phone line so we can have access in the basement. The single cat5 line running outside to the phone box is readily available to me since the walls are still not drywalled. I was wondering how best to tie into the line. Is it acceptable to simply splice the matching colored wires together or will that have some negative impact on my line?

If I recall correctly, the original run upstairs would go into the gang box and another wire would run out to the next box and so on until the final wire ran to the outside of the house. Does that sound right? If that's the case, I see no issues with simply splicing into the wire.

Cat5e was used in the original run and I have some left over cat6 from another project. Can I use the cat6 to connect/splice into the cat5 and be ok or will I need to match it with cat5e?

Thanks for the help!



__________________
Moony_Lupin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2011, 07:28 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 248
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

The cat 5 will work ok, I would do the splice in the junction box closest to where you want the new outlet for phone not in the middle of the line. Without the proper connectors you WILL have trouble down the road.



__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2011, 06:44 AM  
Moony_Lupin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the tip. I can easily run this new line out the wall to the phone box outside instead of splicing into the old run. Would it just be better to wire the new line into that box? Is that even possible? I assume it's the same as any other junction.

Thanks!

__________________
Moony_Lupin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2011, 12:30 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 248
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Yes you can run it to the demark point on the outside of the house. If all outlets were done this way it would make trouble shooting much easier.

__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2011, 05:58 AM  
Moony_Lupin
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Update: I decided not to mess with splicing or running the new line out to the box that was chaotic and confusing. Instead I took the risk and drilled up from the basement into one of the upstairs bedrooms and tapped into the phone line there. After some measuring and careful drilling, I came in right underneath the gang box and fished the new wire up from the basement. I ran the new phone line and tested it. Worked like a charm!

__________________
Moony_Lupin is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-05-2011, 07:44 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 248
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Sounds like you are good to go.



__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Phone Jack Wiring trouble kfitz Electrical and Wiring 3 02-04-2011 02:41 AM
Putting new window into existing frame with existing window flatman55 Windows and Doors 0 09-25-2009 01:06 PM
What to do with the existing siding? schu777 Roofing and Siding 2 10-03-2008 07:06 AM
Safe way to cut an existing gas line? the spindoctor Plumbing Forum 6 06-15-2008 11:58 AM
Will tapping into hot water heatr .... TxBuilder Plumbing Forum 10 06-09-2006 09:21 PM