DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > testing a 4 way switch




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 09:16 AM  
daniel2229
Member
 
daniel2229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Default testing a 4 way switch

I am putting up new cabinets and in the process moved a 4 way switch and broke it while removing the wires. I bought a new one. Now I think I may have put a cabinet screw through the wiring leading to the 4 way or have it hooked up wrong.

I would like to test the circuit but do not have any meters. Can I test the circuit in the following manner? If I remove the switch and wirenut the red to red and the black to black will the other 3 way switches then work the circuit?

Then I should be able to figure out if the 4 way switch is broken or if I did indeed put a screw through a wire somewhere near the junction box.

BTW, the circuit breaker never went off, that is why I suspect either the switch is bad or I have it hooked up wrong.

I placed the red wires at the top two terminals (1 and 2) and the black wires at the bottom (3 and 4). The ground is also at the bottom of the switch.

Thanks.



__________________
daniel2229 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-02-2008, 04:49 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 966
Liked 102 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Top and bottom means nothing in switches. The screw terminals should be different colours. One pair of wires (black and red)to one colour and the other pair to the other colour.
Connecting red-red and black-black should be a valid test.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2008, 12:08 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Hooked up wrong.....

Take one pair of wires, blk. and red. Put them on the two blk, or input screws. and the others on the brass screws. Try switches, if they are bonkers then trade pairs to other screws. It does not matter if the red is on same side as other red. Only that a pair of wires is both on same color of screws. Its truly 50/50 at that point. If you had a glow stick, you could remove wires from switch and see wich pair had a hot wire. These ones would go on input side of switch, but without this tool, proceed as above. Good luck......

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2008, 06:57 AM  
daniel2229
Member
 
daniel2229's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 56
Default

I moved wires last night but always kept the red wires at the top and the black wires on the bottom. That is the way the old switch was wired. The light works, but does not work correctly when flipping the other 3 way switches.

For example, when I sit at the 4 way and operate the foyer light, it works. When the 3 way at the top of the stairs is flipped, the 4 way no longer controls the light. Same for the 3 way in the foyer. So the 4 way works part of the time.

I don't want to change the 3 ways because they are connected correctly; for the last 19 years they have worked. So I know that it is just getting the 4 way wired so that the foyer light works at all the stations.

Here is how the switch stands now. 1 and 2 are on the top and 3 and 4 are on the bottom. Reds are on 1 and 2, blacks on 3 and 4. I switched sides on both the red and black, but if I correctly understand what I read on the Internet, it makes no difference which direction the current flows as long as the 4 way switch can make the X.

So if I get you right, Joe, I can place a red on 1 and a red on 3. Then a black on 2 and a black on 4. If that doesn't work, then switch to the opposite poles.

I'll wait for your advice before making the switch.

__________________
daniel2229 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-04-2008, 12:15 AM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Internet is wrong

If you look on the back of your switch I guarantee almost for certain it will have two screws that say input. If these are not the power wires on these screws, it will not work correctly. My post has all your info, good luck again...

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2009, 09:12 PM  
bengal80
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default

One thing I found helpful is if it is in a house and ran in romex and not conduit then you should have 2 pairs of romex's coming into the switch box. Each one is a pair and they should land on the same color screws as mentioned.(normally black pair and brass pair that I remember)

__________________
bengal80 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2009, 05:23 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 1,103
Liked 150 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 205

Default

Why do you think you put a screw through the wire?



__________________
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Switch to Recptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 2 01-04-2009 05:28 PM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 04:26 PM
Ceiling fan with 4 way switch. gan_nair Electrical and Wiring 4 08-13-2008 06:12 PM
Illuminated wall switch glows but bulbs won't light Paul in Maryland Electrical and Wiring 3 10-21-2007 08:34 AM
Dinning room switch Blair1955 Electrical and Wiring 9 06-22-2007 05:25 AM