DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Transfer switch install




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 10:48 AM  
Chunter001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default Transfer switch install

I would like to instal a transfer switch to allow me to safely run my generator. The problem I have is that my house is equipped with a split bus panel. What makes me nervous is that there is no main breaker. Instead, with a split bus you must throw up to six breakers to shut off service power.

My actual questions is if the 5 breakers (instead of six in my case) are thrown, will it behave as a main breaker? That is to say with all five "supplied" breakers on the off position can I be assured that I'm not putting power out onto the grid and possibly hurting someone? I only plan on hooking the generator to circuits that are below the "supplied" breakers.

Thanks for your input.



__________________
Chunter001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2012, 11:11 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

Depends on the type of transfer switch your get. If you get the type with 6 switches in it then you choose which six circuits you want to transfer.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2012, 11:16 AM  
Chunter001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

That's the type I have. I'm just worried that if I don't have a main I could put power back out to the grid. Since I don't have there is no actual main I believe my bus would always be hot. Or would throwing the top 5 "supplied" breakers act like a main and prevent me from back feeding past that point.

__________________
Chunter001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2012, 12:22 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

The five supplied breakers are not breakers. They are switches. They disconnect the circuit from the panel and connect it to the generator.
The other option you have is larger single transfer switch. In the upper part of the panel there is one double breaker that feeds the lower half of the panel. If put a transfer switch between that breaker and the panel you could energize the entire lower portion of the panel. Both of these setups would not energize any of the double pole circuits in the upper portion of the panel.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2012, 01:25 PM  
Chunter001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

So, if I'm understanding you correctly there should be no way I might unintentionally send power out to the grid even though my bus is always technically hot as long as the top 5 switches are in the off position?

__________________
Chunter001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2012, 04:43 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

The top five switch can be ON. If you use a properly installed transfer switch there is no way to back feed the grid no matter what state the breakers are in. You should not be required to turn off the breakers in the panel to run your generator. That is what a transfer switch does. It switches between one or the other. It does not allow them(grid and generator) to both be connected together.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2012, 12:40 AM  
Chunter001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Ok, so I understand that the transfer switch keeps me from running both grid and generator power. What I don't understand is what keeps the generator power from running up the bus and out to the grid since I don't have a main disconnect. I may be wording this poorly, I just want to make certain I don't injure someone.

__________________
Chunter001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2012, 06:48 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 920
Liked 88 Times on 73 Posts

Default

Because in your panel you actually have two sets of buses. In the upper section you have one bus pair that is connected to the meter/grid. In the lower section the buses get their power from one of the breakers in the upper bus. Think of it as two separate panels in one case. The lower panel is fed by a breaker in the upper panel.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2012, 12:15 PM  
Chunter001
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Perfect! I think I get it. Thanks for the help.



__________________
Chunter001 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Room to Room Heat Transfer - Wood stove NorwegianMan General Home Improvement Discussion 20 01-13-2013 09:01 PM
Bad Install?? mdbaggs Flooring 4 03-23-2012 06:51 PM
Thermostat not working afer transfer to generator backup mdronk HVAC 2 11-05-2011 02:02 PM
bad window install omron Windows and Doors 5 03-19-2010 11:40 AM
New Dishwasher Install tooltime Plumbing Forum 7 08-23-2006 10:19 PM