DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Troubleshooting for High KWH Usage




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2013, 02:47 PM  
ducki3x
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Default Troubleshooting for High KWH Usage

In the fall, I had a power bill that showed KWH usage about 50-60% less than normal (with no change in our usage patterns), so I called the power company and they said it was probably a meter mis-read and to expect the next bill to be higher to balance it out. The next bill was higher (about 50% more KWH than expected), so I thought that would be the end of it. However, the bill after that was also at that level.

I called and asked the power company to check the meter, which they said was working properly. I checked the major appliances with a Kill-a-Watt to see if they were consuming energy outside the expected ranges; they weren't. I also shut off all the breakers to see if the meter still ran with no power being consumed by the house; it didn't.

I just got my latest power bill, and KWH usage is still way up, with no real change in our household usage patterns (and, with winter rates in effect, these are pretty expensive bills). Any suggestions as to troubleshooting I can do to to try to see what's drawing extra power? Thoughts as to whether it would be worth paying an electrician to diagnose the problem? Thanks very much!



__________________
ducki3x is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2013, 07:33 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 250
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Try reading you meter every day in the same time frame. See if you have a pattern on higher usage by day or weather conditions and what your family activities are.



__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2013, 11:05 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,172
Liked 331 Times on 265 Posts
Likes Given: 110

Default

Well from what you said the meter is good as confirmed by the utility company and with the main open (or all breakers off) there is no activity on the meter. It has to be one of two things. First your usage went up and you say it hasn’t. So that leaves some defective power draw and you said you checked the major suspects already with some kind of amp meter.

Shut off all the breakers again and turn them on one at a time with everything convenient shut off and watch the meter. If when you flip one on you are using more power now you have broken the problem down into a smaller subset. Take a look at what is on that breaker and start unplugging everything one at a time until you find the problem power user.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2013, 11:13 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 1,172
Liked 331 Times on 265 Posts
Likes Given: 110

Default

I just Googled your Kill-a-Watt meter and it looks like it’s a 120v device. You didn’t mention if you have 220v devices like hot water etc. Those have to be measured somehow also. Hot water tanks will do exactly what you mentioned when they build up sediment preventing the heat from getting into the water.

__________________
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2013, 01:27 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 951
Liked 101 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Do you have any underground cable like to a light post or detached garage? If one of them is damaged it could be leaking current to the ground and you would never know it.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2013, 04:48 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,893
Liked 813 Times on 726 Posts
Likes Given: 1404

Default

Thermastat on the electric hot water tank,stuck on. Look for evidenceof the pressure valve letting pressure off.
Our outfit is changing all meters to the new smart meters and everyone is complaining about increases like yours.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Air Chamber Usage? 1victorianfarmhouse Plumbing Forum 8 11-30-2011 10:10 PM
How to calculate KWH usage of A/C? onecrazyfoo4u HVAC 4 07-12-2009 07:19 PM
Remodel circuit usage skopper Electrical and Wiring 4 08-30-2006 04:59 AM
Electrical usage in Houston-WAY TOO HIGH bandit69 Electrical and Wiring 2 03-24-2006 01:33 PM