DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Two Hots Sharing a Neutral




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2014, 11:00 AM  
blueskyhighpilot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Default Two Hots Sharing a Neutral

Hello all,

We just moved into a new house and the previous owner ran two 20amp circuits with 15 amp receptacles in the garage via conduit. There are four wires, red, black, white, green shared between the two circuits. He shared the neutral between the two circuits. Is this safe? Legal? Can a ground be shared between two(or more) circuits?

I want to add another circuit to the garage as well (20amp). If multiple circuits can share a neutral, is it limited to two?

The red is stripped in a couple junction boxes so I'll be pulling new wire for that one as well. (I found these as the receptacles were not tight and I pulled them out to figure out why.)

Thank you!



__________________
blueskyhighpilot is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2014, 11:31 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
 
bud16415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 943
Liked 269 Times on 215 Posts
Likes Given: 95

Default

It’s somewhat common to do that and to code. The idea is I believe the red and black are from opposite legs of the 220 and are out of phase so when one is conducting the other is down. That way the white common is only seeing the current of one at a time. It’s called a multi wire branch circuit.


link

http://ecmweb.com/code-basics/branch-circuits-part-one

http://www.jadelearning.com/thejunctionbox/multiwire-branch-circuits-nec-210-4/



__________________

Last edited by bud16415; 05-29-2014 at 11:46 AM.
bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2014, 12:22 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Might want to change those outlets to 20 Amp instead of 15 Amp.
What gauge wire was run for these outlets?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2014, 12:45 PM  
blueskyhighpilot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Thank you!

__________________
blueskyhighpilot is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2014, 12:46 PM  
blueskyhighpilot
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Might want to change those outlets to 20 Amp instead of 15 Amp.
What gauge wire was run for these outlets?

Solid 12 awg. I was thinking of changing them to 20amp outlets.
__________________
blueskyhighpilot is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-29-2014, 03:30 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

Solid core in conduit doesn't sound right.
Could be a local code thing but, I can't imagine what wire was used in conduit that is solid core w/o being romex or MC.
In which case, you need to get some more feedback on the type of wire used and it's compliance in this application.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Two Hots -- One Box GeorgyD Electrical and Wiring 6 07-04-2013 02:01 PM
Two Circuits Sharing Junction Box doechsli Electrical and Wiring 4 04-03-2013 07:26 PM
Sharing white neutral wires Nestor_Kelebay Electrical and Wiring 2 08-28-2009 10:48 PM