DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Under Cabinet Lighting




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2008, 06:58 PM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

Okay, so upon further inspection (I feel like I find something new each time I look). I notice that there is a 220V in my basement that is not being used. The hot wires were capped off to allow for additional space on the panel, but the neutral is still connected. Since this is not currently hooked up, can I remove and cap the neutral, which would provide the one open space I need for the dedicated circuit (and be legal)?

I'm guessing my panel is not newer, probably 1980's, so I would just double them up I guess If the above isn't going to work.



__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-22-2008, 09:17 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

No. Never disconnect a neutral even to an unused circuit. UNLESS you disconnect the hot wires from the breaker and fold it all down out of the way or remove it from the panel altogether.

Why don't you set a sub-panel in the basement and branch your new circuits from there? You could use the 240v wire...



__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 07:20 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

The 220 was already removed from the breaker panel. It has wire screws on the hot ends. The only thing remaining is the neutral. So essentially is is already removed, or at least out of the way. By removing the neutral I would gain the one needed for my dedicated circuit. I'm assuming since the hots have been removed from the breaker and the breaker itself is no longer in the panel, I can shut off the main and pull the neutral out of the bar??

__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-23-2008, 04:36 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

yep
I'm convinced that you need to do this thing already lol

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2008, 09:51 AM  
cibula11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 331
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Square Eye View Post
yep
I'm convinced that you need to do this thing already lol

You mean 34 posts is not enough?
__________________
cibula11 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-24-2008, 06:04 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

LOL

Speedy Petey could have done it with 2

__________________

[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]

Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2009, 12:57 AM  
electrical contractor
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Code says that it has to be installed to manufacturers specs. Many manufacturers say that you can double wires on the buss bar. The only catch is that the wires you double up have to be the same size. 2 12's or 2 14's. No mixing sizes.

Run a Circut to the Micro while you have the opertunity.

Then have no fear in installing undercouter lights. Just pick the lights first and wire the lighting based on what you have picked. You can read up on some under counter lighitng options here. under counter lighting Brands and styles



__________________
electrical contractor is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Lighting Information Articles DoA General Home Improvement Discussion 1 06-08-2011 05:21 AM
Base Cabinet Dilemma Browse General Home Improvement Discussion 9 01-19-2010 08:29 AM
NEW Hidden Storage Cabinet (Ideal for use as a Medicine Cabinet) Hyde325 General Home Improvement Discussion 6 10-22-2009 10:08 AM
Recessed lighting question RyanBruner Electrical and Wiring 6 11-19-2008 06:21 PM
Lighting Tips & Advice - Interesting Reading DoA Electrical and Wiring 0 05-31-2006 04:41 AM