DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > unpolorized outlets




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2011, 11:16 AM  
restez1963
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: modesto, california
Posts: 22
Default unpolorized outlets

Hello guys

Few ?s

1)In older homes where no ground was installed and outlets were of 2 prongs
is this just hot wire and nuetral when unpolorized and and polorized?

2)If these plugs were modified and replaced with modern 3 prong outlets but the
wiring was not upgraded so being false grounds is this dangerous and why ?

3) Can someone tell me what it means to be a unpolorize plug outlet im guesing in to prong
old outlets both holes are the same size please correct me if i am wrong i just want to get a better understanding of this because i may buy a 1947 home and i know the house has modern outlets but open ground .
Thanks


|



__________________
restez1963 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2011, 05:09 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

What you can plan on and make your bid to account for it is, a complete rewiring of the home.
Ungrounded outlets can kill you, unpolerized one do not work well with modern electronic equipment.



__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2011, 07:15 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,179
Liked 104 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

1)In older homes where no ground was installed and outlets were of 2 prongs
is this just hot wire and nuetral when unpolorized and and polorized?
Yes

2)If these plugs were modified and replaced with modern 3 prong outlets but the
wiring was not upgraded so being false grounds is this dangerous and why ?
No more dangerous than what you have now.

3) Can someone tell me what it means to be a unpolorize plug outlet im guesing in to prong
old outlets both holes are the same size please correct me if i am wrong i just want to get a better understanding of this because i may buy a 1947 home and i know the house has modern outlets but open ground .
Correct

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-13-2011, 11:53 PM  
restez1963
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: modesto, california
Posts: 22
Default

thanks for your help guys

__________________
restez1963 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2011, 05:49 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

For safety you can still add a gfi plug, it works with out ground.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2011, 10:03 PM  
Bevix
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Takoma Park, Maryland
Posts: 3
Default

First things first: I AM NOT AN ELECTRICIAN!!! Take my advice at your own risk.

Regarding three wire plugs in two wire circuits, there is a way to ground these circuits under certain circumstances:

1. Your house is wired with armored cable (the wires are wrapped in a metal sheath) and you have metal switch and outlet boxes.

2. For each circuit (run of wiring to the main panel), you can verify that the cable's metal sheath is intact through the entire run (no plastic boxes in the circuit, say from a past splice for a new outlet). This is very important!! It must be intact all the way to the main panel.

If you have these circumstances, you can install a short run of wire (green insulation or bare copper only, please!) from the green screw on the outlet or switch and screw it into the box. There are usually holes in the boxes for these types of connections. They sell these wires (ask for "pigtails") at most big box or regular hardware stores.

By doing this, you can provide a true ground for each outlet instead of creating a dangerous illusion of a home full of grounded outlets and switches. Naturally, the best way is to provide a true ground for each circuit directly to the panel, but this is definitely better than nothing.

Finally, if you go with a GFCI outlet and don't have a ground attached, you should find a sticker in the box that says "No Equipment Ground." That sticker needs to be put on the outside of the outlet.

Good Luck and don't kill yourself! ;-)



__________________
Bevix is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Popping GFI but not non-GFI outlets - need help kdtarbet Electrical and Wiring 5 10-06-2010 10:04 PM
120 v outlets at 108 static stlsig Electrical and Wiring 4 05-31-2010 04:20 PM
No juice to certain outlets sidewalkdrop Electrical and Wiring 18 05-07-2010 09:17 AM
Outlets Grounded??? bobo60 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-30-2006 02:14 PM