DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Upgrading to 200 Amp Service





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2009, 03:47 PM  
Vikeologist
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 37
Default Upgrading to 200 Amp Service

When I bought my house the eletrical wires coming from the pole to the house were above ground, and attatched to the side of my house, then ran down to the meter.

I had my electrical company come and bury the electrical lines in the ground. They told me this new line would be ready for 200 amp service upgrade when i chose to do it.

Well the time has come and I am ready to upgrade to 200 amp service. I will be installing a new furnace and a heat pump, as well as remodeling a couple of rooms in my basement in the upcoming few years.

Outside of hiring an electrician, what else do I need? I am currently looking at a Square D QO 200 AMP Breaker Box with 40 circuit capacity.

What else will he need, and how much should I expect to spend?



__________________
Vikeologist is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2009, 08:18 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,081
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

Not sure why you would need an Electrician to change your change your load center but, you'll obviously want to purchase more breakers of different amperage and type in addition to more wire. Have no idea on cost, call around to local electrical companies and ask about their hourly rates or standard cost of a panel swap.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2009, 09:24 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post

Outside of hiring an electrician, what else do I need? I am currently looking at a Square D QO 200 AMP Breaker Box with 40 circuit capacity.

What else will he need, and how much should I expect to spend?
I am wondering why you are buying anything at all. Your electrician will be able to supply all the material he needs.

If you think you are going to save an appreciable amount of money buying the material yourself, think again.




Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
Not sure why you would need an Electrician to change your change your load center but,
Because typically that is the best way to have a job like this done.
A panel swap or service upgrade is not something for anyone but the most advanced DIYer.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2009, 06:08 AM  
Vikeologist
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 37
Default

I know nothing about electricity, so there is no way I am going to attempt to do this job on my own, therefor I need to hire an electrician.

Since I have the new line run up to the meter, is the hardest part done now? What else needs to be done besides the new load center?

Also the reason I was buying the load center myself, was because I wanted a certain brand, I have read on several forums that that particular load center was best.

How long of a job is this to change over?

__________________
Vikeologist is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2009, 06:31 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post

Also the reason I was buying the load center myself, was because I wanted a certain brand, I have read on several forums that that particular load center was best.

How long of a job is this to change over?
A typical 200A service upgrade is about a one day job.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2009, 06:32 AM  
Vikeologist
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 37
Default

so what work needs to be done outside yet? or is it all just inside now with the new load center?

__________________
Vikeologist is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2009, 07:01 AM  
Cork-Guy
Cork Flooring Pros
 
Cork-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post
so what work needs to be done outside yet? or is it all just inside now with the new load center?
From what you've stated thus far the rest of the work should be inside.
__________________

[B][URL="http://www.corkflooringpros.com"]Cork Flooring[/URL][/B] - [B][URL="http://www.ventless-fireplace.org"]Ventless Fireplace[/URL][/B]

Cork-Guy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2009, 09:09 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vikeologist View Post
so what work needs to be done outside yet? or is it all just inside now with the new load center?
We have no idea.

Was a new 200A meter pan installed with the new 200A underground lateral?
What about the entrance cable? Was it upgraded to 200A? I doubt it since you would never be able to terminate it in a 100A panel.
Have you asked your electrician any of this yet???

Maybe some pics would help.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-11-2009, 09:44 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 888
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts

Default

It depends. The wires from the meter to the panel need to be the proper size. If you are lucky they are correct and all you need is panel swap.
It could be that you need new meter pan, conduit and cable fro the meter pan to the panel, new ground rods and the new panel.
The electrician will be able to determine this after he inspects the job.

If you get the same brand of panel you currently have then the breaker can move from the old panel to the new one.
The old panel could also possibly be used as a sub panel and none of the circuits will need to be moved into the new panel.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2010, 10:02 AM  
SGC622
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Unless the state that the DIYer is from does not have a requirement for you to have a license to do electrical work. It should always be done by a licensed electrician even in those states. In my eyes dealing with joe home owner, on a job as involved as a service where at points power is live all the time, its my opinion its a suicide mission for the homeowner do homeowners know or even feel comfortable connecting the live power or even know how to do it properly? and how many know NOT to use a metal ladder or lean against against aluminum siding if they have it. back to the question. You should definitely have your electrician buy the stock, where ever he buys it he will most likely get it cheaper. and to let you know Square D anything is more expensive. its not unsafe to consider a lesser panel like a murray or like panel. or if your that adamant about buying the stock have your electrician come in and write you up a stock list for you to go shopping with.



__________________
SGC622 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
New cell service dakuda General Chit-Chat 3 05-11-2009 08:29 PM
100 amp service in my garage pgcoach Electrical and Wiring 1 01-03-2009 11:22 PM
Service Entrance tomtoolman12345 Roofing and Siding 1 04-07-2008 07:19 AM
Service Panel onryx2 Electrical and Wiring 2 08-21-2006 07:18 PM
Shop Vac service mickmar Tools 0 11-14-2005 02:42 PM