DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > In-wall Timer for LED bulbs




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 05:11 PM  
ccpyue
Member
 
ccpyue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 40
Likes Given: 1

Default In-wall Timer for LED bulbs

've an In-wall 110V timer used to control 6 out-door halogen bulbs each of 35W. I recently changed all bulbs to LED which is only 3W each. Then the In-wall timer won't turn off the lights at set time. I called up the mfg, they said my LED bulbs won't have sufficient load to make the timer work, and told me to buy another type In-wall timer which cost $60-. I don't want to spend that $60- to replace the one year new timer , can I add loading to the timer to make it work. Such as by simply add a resistant to the power line before going in to the In-wall timer? or is there any other way to solve this problem? Thank you.



__________________
ccpyue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2012, 08:18 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 948
Liked 100 Times on 82 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Put one of the old bulbs back.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2012, 07:45 AM  
ccpyue
Member
 
ccpyue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 40
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Put one of the old bulbs back.
one good idea, but then one of the bulb light will be different from the other 5.
__________________
ccpyue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2012, 09:54 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,789
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1372

Default

http://www.timercentral.com/sylvania-sa200-outdoor-timer-with-light-sensor/

You could plug your timer into one of this times that work on a photo cell.
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2012, 02:53 PM  
ccpyue
Member
 
ccpyue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 40
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
http://www.timercentral.com/sylvania-sa200-outdoor-timer-with-light-sensor/

You could plug your timer into one of this times that work on a photo cell.
But my timer is an hard-wired In-Wall timer.
__________________
ccpyue is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2012, 03:04 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,789
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1372

Default

I don't know if there is something like that to hard wire in.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2012, 04:12 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,789
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1372

Default

http://www.acetek.co.uk/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderfiles/celloptik12vdc.pdf
Depending on the voltage you could use something like this on the low voltage side.
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-19-2013, 01:32 AM  
lesliemorris85
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 13
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

how did you solve this OP? I kinda have the same problem too…
__________________
lesliemorris85 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 11:24 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,255
Liked 381 Times on 298 Posts
Likes Given: 154

Default

Install an EXTERIOR photo-cell. Leave your interior timer alone (since it can't handle the situation) and install the new photo-cell in-line. It will activate as needed.

Problem solved.

http://www.watthackers.com/wp/installing-dusk-to-dawn-photocell-in-exterior-lighting-to-save-power/

__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 11:19 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,789
Liked 803 Times on 716 Posts
Likes Given: 1372

Default

I guess simple minds can think alike too. I just plugged one of these between the outlet and the timer, transformer on a plug in unit.



xmas-photocell.jpg  
__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Air Compressor Timer 69-er Electrical and Wiring 20 03-08-2014 12:07 PM
defrost timer Bob Krueger Refrigerators 1 08-11-2011 12:53 PM
Illuminated wall switch glows but bulbs won't light Paul in Maryland Electrical and Wiring 3 10-21-2007 08:34 AM
First Timer joannef01 Introductions 2 06-07-2007 08:24 AM