DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wanting to install recessed lighting in my bedroom




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2010, 01:34 PM  
Zachary
Member
 
Zachary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windcrest, TX
Posts: 78
Default Wanting to install recessed lighting in my bedroom

I want to install 4 recessed lights in my bedroom, in each corner, 2' from the walls, as shown in the plan below, I can get into the attic but I was hoping for a guide on installation, what type to get, etc. I was going to run the wire for it from the fan control in the wall



recessedlightingfp.jpg   dsc02444.jpg  
__________________
Zachary is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 02:28 PM  
handyguys
Senior Member
 
handyguys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 815
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to handyguys
Default

The recessed cans should be "IC" rated. That means Insulation Contact. I assume you have an insulated attic. Recessed lights can be very expensive or crazy cheap. The home centers will sell a box of six for less than some single ones go for. When shopping price out the trim rings too, they can add a considerable expense for certain styles.

If you have access in the attic then you can use either 'remodel' or "new construction" styles. remodel fixtures are designed to be installed from below. new construction style assumes you can nail them to the joists (you can from your attic).

Good luck and feel free to ask any further questions once you pick out the fixtures. Read the instructions and be safe working on electrical.



__________________

The Handyguys Podcast [url]http://www.handyguyspodcast.com[/url]

handyguys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-18-2010, 02:46 PM  
Zachary
Member
 
Zachary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windcrest, TX
Posts: 78
Default

Thanks for the info, I do have attic access and yes, it is insulated. I will post when I buy lights

__________________
Zachary is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2010, 01:07 PM  
granite-girl
Senior Member
 
granite-girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 204
Default

Do you have a fan in your closet & laundry room ?
What kind of software did you use to create that drawing? Is it pretty easy to use ?

__________________

[URL="http://www.supremesurfacecleaner.com/"]http://www.supremesurfacecleaner.com/[/URL]

[URL="http://bathroom.remodelingindianapolis.com/"]http://bathroom.remodelingindianapolis.com/[/URL]

granite-girl is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2010, 01:14 PM  
Zachary
Member
 
Zachary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windcrest, TX
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by granite-girl View Post
Do you have a fan in your closet & laundry room ?
What kind of software did you use to create that drawing? Is it pretty easy to use ?
Yes I sure do, all told there are 16 ceiling fans in this house, it really helps with air circulation

The program I used is called 3D Home Architect 2.0, it's an old program so you'd need to get it off ebay but it is unbelievably simple to use, I've had it since 1995 when it was new and even then, when I was 6/7 I could use it
__________________
Zachary is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2010, 01:18 PM  
granite-girl
Senior Member
 
granite-girl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 204
Default

Huh, I think I had 3D Home Architect at one time

__________________

[URL="http://www.supremesurfacecleaner.com/"]http://www.supremesurfacecleaner.com/[/URL]

[URL="http://bathroom.remodelingindianapolis.com/"]http://bathroom.remodelingindianapolis.com/[/URL]

granite-girl is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2010, 12:40 PM  
elan123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 15
Default

I use that software myself, good stuff for being so old.

__________________
elan123 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-29-2010, 04:53 PM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,206
Liked 146 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 80

Default

Room Calculations
__________________
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2010, 02:01 PM  
Zachary
Member
 
Zachary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Windcrest, TX
Posts: 78
Default

Today I bought the lights, they are IC rated. I also set up the switches for them, I'll have to do the lights next week. I used wiremold because I didn't want to have to cut out the drywall to put in a bigger box. Looking back I should have gotten double size wiremold box, I already had one single since the control for my fan was too big to fit into the box so I just got a second and put them next to each other...I don't like how it looks though, so yeah, I'll probably get a double next time I'm at Home Depot...I will paint the wiremold strip the same color as the wall. In the pic the switches are to the left and my fan control is to the right

dsc02580.jpg   dsc02581.jpg  
__________________
Zachary is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-09-2010, 02:09 PM  
handyguys
Senior Member
 
handyguys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 815
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Send a message via Skype™ to handyguys
Default

Zach, why the wiremold?

Since you can get into the ceiling from above to hook up the lights you should be able to find the top plate for that wall, drill a hole and fish a wire down to a 'remodel' double gang switch box. You can pull any existing wires into the new box too. The hardest part will be getting out an old existing box.



__________________
handyguys is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Can I install recessed lighting??? Deano1 Electrical and Wiring 13 06-02-2010 06:16 PM
recessed lighting in old house kelley4180 Decorating and Design 8 02-10-2010 11:10 PM
Recessed lighting question RyanBruner Electrical and Wiring 6 11-19-2008 06:21 PM
20 amp circuit - recessed lighting. Scot Clark Electrical and Wiring 11 08-30-2006 05:48 AM
Please help my recessed lighting wiring. chadsepulveda Electrical and Wiring 1 06-16-2006 08:49 PM