DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > What size wire?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2007, 09:03 AM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default What size wire?

I am going to be running 100A to my garage from my 200A house service. The whole house and garage used to run on 60A, so I figure I can spare some to the garage as needed.

My problem is, the garage is ~50 feet away from my house. I figure I will need about 75 feet of wire. What size should I run so as to not lose half of it on the way to the garage? I have a few welders and an air compressor that need 220V out there.

I plan on putting in a double pole 100A breaker in my existing panel and then running it to a 100A panel in the garage.



__________________

Last edited by dakuda; 08-03-2007 at 09:14 AM.
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2007, 08:10 AM  
Parrothead
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: , WI
Posts: 65
Likes Given: 1

Default

You don't have to worry about voltage drop, 75 feet isn't far. You need #3copper, or #2 aluminum. If you can find it, you can use 2-2-4 aluminum, which is the three conductors you need already bundled together. If you use aluminum, which I would recommend, cuz copper is insanely expensive, you need to lightly coat the exposed wire with an anti-oxidizing compound. You can get small tubes of it at the local big box stores.

Is this an attatched garage or detatched? If it is detatched, you need to drive two ground rods and use a #6 ground wire. If attatched, just run the ground wire from your service panel to the subfeed in the garage with the other conductors. Hope this helps.

__________________
Parrothead is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2007, 02:48 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 445
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Detached or not, you should run a ground WITH the circuit conductors. This is required in all but a few cases.
You can get AL 2/2/2/4 URD cable to run in conduit to a detached garage, or #2AL SER cable, which is also 2/2/2/4, to run inside the house.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size for sub-panel deepstuff Electrical and Wiring 3 11-21-2008 12:58 PM
how do I wire an inline fan to the hvac blower tomate10 HVAC 1 06-02-2008 10:49 AM
220 wiring... watts Electrical and Wiring 15 02-18-2008 12:43 PM
Thermostat wire for gas fireplace Outbacker HVAC 5 11-04-2007 10:57 AM
230v welder, 240v compresser - breaker & wire size? Scot Clark Electrical and Wiring 3 02-02-2007 02:50 PM