DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Why do refigs need a dedicated circuit??




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-03-2009, 12:13 AM  
SeattleDIY
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Default Why do refigs need a dedicated circuit??

I have read many time that refrigerators always need a dedicated circuit and that nothing can be taken off of it.

Is this true?? If so,why?



__________________
SeattleDIY is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2009, 05:33 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

First, considering what's at stake I wold think the "why" is obvious.

Second, a refer does NOT require it's own circuit. Oddly enough the code minimum installation allows a refer to be placed on one of the two required 20A small appliance circuits.
What is written is that the refer can be on it's own 15A circuit.

Most every electrician I know of will put a full sized refer on it's own 15 or 20 amp dedicated circuit. There is really no reason not to.

To add, a refer in a kitchen does NOT require GFI protection as long as the receptacle is behind it.



__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2009, 11:00 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default specs. will tell you.....

You will know by the manufactures electrical specifications sheet. There are a growing number of refers out there today that require a dedicated circuit. Alot of these are the sub-zero type. Yes some will run on a 15amp circuit, but they do not get along with any other appliances. Good luck......

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2009, 11:18 PM  
SeattleDIY
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 51
Default

Thanks for clearing things up. Just curious because I have a refer in my garage thats just plugged in to a normal outlet.

__________________
SeattleDIY is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
As of 2008 Icehouse General Appliance Discussion 3 01-12-2009 11:06 AM
Full circuit breaker box Donna Jean Electrical and Wiring 2 12-31-2008 09:57 PM
GFI and Circuit keep tripping trythis Electrical and Wiring 3 04-07-2008 10:39 PM
Circuit breaker pops Vreelandjr Electrical and Wiring 10 11-09-2006 07:20 AM
Remodel circuit usage skopper Electrical and Wiring 4 08-30-2006 04:59 AM