DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > why does my ground have current





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2008, 03:07 PM  
gavimobile
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Square Eye View Post
If you had found a ground wire that had full voltage or near full voltage, you would have been able to trace that circuit and fix the problem.

You still might consider going back through and checking the wire inside your junction boxes and in your outlet boxes for skinned, even tiny nicks on the wire's insulation where the wire touches the boxes. Check for screws that could have penetrated the insulation, check the wire at the point where it enters the boxes. It doesn't take much to become a big problem.
square eyes thanks for your kind response,
someone mentioned that testing with a tester is silly cause its not relyable.. i purchased a 2 dollars tester, so im gona take his word on this. i got a multimeter! a few days ago i redid the electric in my entire house AGAIN. it seems my ground section is fine, untill something is pluged in to the outlets. meaning, if nthing is pluged in, its 2v, but when i plug something in the volts of ground jump max max max 70 volts. im gona grond my place properly then i do tests again


__________________
gavimobile is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2008, 10:35 AM  
gavimobile
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Default

thank you all for your wonderful responses... i bought a ground cable today 6mm and connected it to a water pipe.. my problem is now solved... no more ~~shocks~~~

SOLVED



__________________
gavimobile is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-16-2008, 09:53 PM  
triple D
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 296
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Welcome Gavimobile!

I have to go with Speedy Petey on this one. As a journeyman electrician myself, I can tell you that you have created a very dangerous situation. Your water pipe is not to be used as a neutral, and that is what you are doing when you connect 70 volts to it. There should be 3 wires serving a house in your country, much like our country; except the 3rd wire is a ground. Do you have any 120 volt appliances in your home? A 70 volt return is like an open neutral on a 120 volt device. None the less, the 3rd wire on your service should handle this need. You should look towards your serving ground from the power company, because it sounds like it is failing. What you have done by hooking the ground to your water pipe is dangerous because when that fails, your water pipes will become electrified. It's the thought of standing in the shower soaking wet when that problem reoccurs that should make you worry. A water pipe can only carry current to ground efficiently for so long before it becomes corroded and fails. The idea of hooking a ground to a water pipe is only a safety measure in case a ground fault occurs.

Be careful what advice you follow out here, and good luck, my friend....

__________________

[COLOR="DarkGreen"][FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]See my work-Check out my album. "Git 'Er Done":D [/FONT][/COLOR]

triple D is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2008, 02:24 AM  
gavimobile
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by triple D View Post
I have to go with Speedy Petey on this one. As a journeyman electrician myself, I can tell you that you have created a very dangerous situation. Your water pipe is not to be used as a neutral, and that is what you are doing when you connect 70 volts to it. There should be 3 wires serving a house in your country, much like our country; except the 3rd wire is a ground. Do you have any 120 volt appliances in your home? A 70 volt return is like an open neutral on a 120 volt device. None the less, the 3rd wire on your service should handle this need. You should look towards your serving ground from the power company, because it sounds like it is failing. What you have done by hooking the ground to your water pipe is dangerous because when that fails, your water pipes will become electrified. It's the thought of standing in the shower soaking wet when that problem reoccurs that should make you worry. A water pipe can only carry current to ground efficiently for so long before it becomes corroded and fails. The idea of hooking a ground to a water pipe is only a safety measure in case a ground fault occurs.

Be careful what advice you follow out here, and good luck, my friend....
tripple D, thanks for your kind response, because of the reason that the entire blocks water pipe might become electrified i made sure not to connect the ground there. when i said my post was solved, i had connected the ground to an old water pipe (with no water) of metal, which is cemeted into my wall. My ground doesnt recieve anymore than 1v. i no longer get shocks from touching applicances in my house so my problem is solved and nothing is failing. in regards to the cables, my country only has 2 cables comming in to the couse NOT 3. also the standard in my country is connecting the ground to the main water pipe where the meter is. I know this cause ive been told more than once, and i can see a 6mm ground cable connected near each and every water meter. I have left my ground where it is at the moment untill a friend of myn who is a certified technician ok's me to connect to the main water pipe like everyone else.
thanks
gavi
edited: no 120v applicanes
__________________
gavimobile is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2009, 09:24 AM  
gavimobile
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 16
Default

can the admin please remove any instance with the word "ekpc.com" in this thread.. im trying to keep away harvesters from my domain and i posted it at least once in this thread i believe when i uploaded a picture

thanks



__________________
gavimobile is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
4 wires (plus ground) running to 3-way kpster Electrical and Wiring 8 11-26-2012 05:38 PM
120v on ground wire Milwaukean Electrical and Wiring 1 12-31-2008 02:58 PM
Open Ground Outlets xiolo Electrical and Wiring 5 10-12-2008 11:06 PM
Wiring w/no ground shan2themax Electrical and Wiring 12 05-15-2008 01:29 PM
interesting ground wire hawkestone Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2006 02:26 PM