DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wire lights in




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 09:20 PM  
evan1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default Wire lights in

How do I wire a new out side light on my garage



__________________
evan1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 07:12 AM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

Welcome to the site:
Do you have power in the garage now?
Is the inside of the garage finished?



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 09:11 PM  
evan1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw
Welcome to the site:
Do you have power in the garage now?
Is the inside of the garage finished?
Yes their is power and the inside is finished. I guess what I'm really asking is how to jump power to the light safely and correctly. I figure I'll use a whole saw to put the hole in for the light
__________________
evan1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 09:57 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 9,766
Liked 802 Times on 715 Posts
Likes Given: 1362

Default

If you got access to the attic you might just take power from the overhead light, depending on how that light is wired.
I think you can use a pancake box, just cut out siding and screw it to the sheeting. You may be doing some drywall repair.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2013, 08:52 AM  
Fireguy5674
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Jacksonville, Illinois
Posts: 182
Liked 35 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

There are some variables involved in your project.

1. Will you be incorparating a separate switch into your light circuit?

2. Will your light be regulated by a photocell or a motion sensor?

3. Do you have access to a power source in your garage attic or some place close to light or switch location? (Only needed if you will use a separate switch for this light.)

There are other questions based on the answers to these. This is not complicated but lots of possibilities.



__________________
Fireguy5674 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
generator . my dryer 240 is a 3 wire. do i have to make it a 4 wire? mrcoffee36 Electrical and Wiring 17 11-04-2012 08:57 AM
Adding ceiling pot lights without running new wire from panel condoowner Electrical and Wiring 10 08-01-2012 03:51 PM
Cooktop four wire to three wire satish Electrical and Wiring 2 06-03-2011 06:16 PM
"hairy" wire in xmas lights sailor86 Electrical and Wiring 5 11-30-2010 10:09 AM
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM