DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring 5 wires cooktop to 4 wires electrical box




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-31-2011, 08:14 AM  
kimouette
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Default Wiring 5 wires cooktop to 4 wires electrical box

I just bought a used Frigidaire cooktop model FPS64W-1. I cant find any manual and I have no idea how to make the wiring. Everything I find on the net shows 3 or 4 wires and always a white wire (mine does not have any white wires!).

5 wires are coming out of the cooktop :

1-black
1-red
1-green
1-yellow
1-brown

My household electrical box has 4 wires... how am I supposed to figure out which wire goes to which wire
Any help would be very appreciated.. I need to cook a turkey tonight



__________________
kimouette is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2011, 08:46 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 915
Liked 86 Times on 72 Posts

Default

Those colours are European wiring. Are you in North America?
Is there a drawing on the back of the stove? Take a picture of it and post it.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2011, 01:35 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

That does not appear to be a valid model number.

Can you verify.

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2013, 12:36 PM  
katie2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Default

i have the same issue. i am trying to put a new plug on the cooktop - it has 5 wires black/brown/red/yellow/green but the plug calls for 4 wires - black/green/white/red can i do this?

__________________
katie2 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2013, 12:39 PM  
katie2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Default

the plug i bought is 30A/50A black angle plug

thank you

2013-03-18-14.37.09.jpg   2013-03-18-14.48.18.jpg   2013-03-18-11.17.37.jpg  
__________________
katie2 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2013, 02:45 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,825
Liked 661 Times on 592 Posts
Likes Given: 1171

Default

Find a local dealer for white westinghouse.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 01:01 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by katie2 View Post
i have the same issue. i am trying to put a new plug on the cooktop - it has 5 wires black/brown/red/yellow/green but the plug calls for 4 wires - black/green/white/red can i do this?
That looks like a straight 240V unit. I see no need for a white, and the yellow and brown are a complete mystery.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 05:17 PM  
nealtw
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 8,825
Liked 661 Times on 592 Posts
Likes Given: 1171

Default

I think you have a unit that someone wants to forget they made it.
I did find that the serial numbers fit into the fridgedaire code system. I checked it for recalls and it came up with none but when I checked the numberfor the OP model sudenly the search was no longer available.??
I did find this site that lists a bunch of fridgedaires with problems that you don't need and your serial number fits in that group.
Theres a chart about half way down the page.
http://www.laundrypumprecall.ca/node42.aspx

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-19-2013, 11:18 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,159
Liked 328 Times on 258 Posts
Likes Given: 123

Default

I was able to locate a forum where this 5-wire issue was addressed with a wiring diagram. The link is to the forum .... the wiring diagram is referenced in one of the responses.

http://forum.appliancepartspros.com/oven-repair-including-ranges-cooktops/502986-wire-colors.html

This should be what you need to solve the riddle.



__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
2 hot wires coming into receptacle Alonzo Electrical and Wiring 12 11-10-2013 01:54 PM
No hot wires?! Scripty Electrical and Wiring 4 01-18-2011 04:12 PM
How many wires in a conduit? voltohm Electrical and Wiring 10 11-24-2008 05:14 PM
rerouting wires daniel2229 Electrical and Wiring 5 05-13-2008 08:20 AM
fishing wires Kerrylib Electrical and Wiring 4 07-20-2006 11:00 AM