DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring a furnace for a generator.....




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 12:28 PM  
doechsli
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 33
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Wiring a furnace for a generator.....

I saw a writeup where a gas furnace was wired with a piece of an extension cord with a plug (properly sized) that was then plugged into an outlet (dedicated circuit). There was only one outlet so only one device could be plugged at a time. This would allow the furnace to be easily switched to a generator in case of a power failure. This was said to be NEC compliant as the circuit was dedicated for the gas appliance and the wiring/outlet was sized properly. This seems like a much simpler and cheaper approach than a transfer switch but before I go and do this I wanted to be sure this was a sound idea.



__________________

Dennis


Last edited by doechsli; 09-04-2012 at 01:34 PM.
doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-04-2012, 03:54 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 95 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

I have to admit, I do not know the NEC regulations regarding this type of setup and all furnaces I've seen are hardwired.
I have seen dedicated outlets setup to be used for misc. utility and/or used to back feed the breaker panel in order to run the furnace and/or other select items.
Sorry I can't be of more help to you but, Speedy may be able to provide NEC compliant input for you.



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-05-2012, 07:11 AM  
doechsli
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 33
Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

To be clear, I have NO intention of backfeeding the panel, just want to plug the furnace into a generator. As an additional point of clarification, the power supply for the thermostat would also be powered with this setup.

__________________

Dennis

doechsli is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 12:49 AM  
rosemarie
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Hallo Everyone
I like the idea of having a dedicated outlet to your genset. If you are even remotely thinking of coming off your panel PLEASE use an isolation switch.

__________________

http://houston-heaters.com/

rosemarie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
natural gas-powered generator inside home? ilyaz Electrical and Wiring 8 04-05-2013 02:17 PM
How to determine power requirements for a generator and other questions ilyaz Electrical and Wiring 2 07-30-2010 11:24 PM
Generator Cord and Inlet box 20A to 30A broadbill Electrical and Wiring 8 05-04-2009 12:02 AM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 06:02 AM