DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring new 3 wire electric cooktop...help.





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 03:49 PM  
srbrown73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Wiring new 3 wire electric cooktop...help.

I had an old GE electric cooktop that I'm replacing with a new Whirlpool. The old cooktop controls are on the range hood. there are 19 wires at the connection:
5 red, 5 white, 4 yellow, 4 black, and 1 blue. (see photo) I started to cut the wires before figuring out how to do it. the new cooktop has 1 black, 1 red, and 1 copper wire.

How in the world should I wire this up?

Any help would be appreciated.







__________________
srbrown73 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2012, 04:51 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,083
Liked 71 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 50

Default

The range hood will no longer control the new stove.
The wires don't look like they are big enough to handle the electrical current.
I think that you'll find that the range hood is powered by the same combination of wires that your new stove needs. You will have to attach your new stove to the main feeds for the range hood (not the control wires).



__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-21-2012, 06:28 PM  
srbrown73
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the help. Yeah, I'm ok with losing the range hood controls. I'll back track to find the main feed.

Thanks again.

__________________
srbrown73 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2012, 03:08 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesJones View Post
There is a clear indication in it that which wire will be conneced there. If dont understand still, review the manual it will clear your concept more because i had also followed the manual instructions because every model have a bit different specifications.
Are you in the US/Canada? Your posts are impossible to understand. They read like poor translations.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-27-2012, 10:07 AM  
thereza
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I think he's saying 'RTFM'

-r



__________________
thereza is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Cooktop four wire to three wire satish Electrical and Wiring 2 06-03-2011 06:16 PM
Wiring New Cooktop Part 2 mreason711 Electrical and Wiring 6 12-15-2010 03:57 PM
Wiring a cooktop HELP !! tiorunder Electrical and Wiring 1 01-09-2010 10:44 AM
Wiring New Cooktop nsomniac Electrical and Wiring 5 02-13-2008 10:15 PM
Electric glass cooktop? quiltingal General Appliance Discussion 1 10-06-2006 05:37 PM