DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring New Cooktop




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2008, 01:41 AM  
nsomniac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default Wiring New Cooktop

Just wanting some thoughts on my situation...

I'm replacing an ancient Jennair downdraft cooktop with a new Whirlpool...

My supply is black, red, and white (note the absence of green )...the Jennair, I discovered, was wired red to red, black to black, white to white, with the green from the cooktop just hanging bare in the junction box.
The new cooktop is 3 wire, black/red/ground. Installation instructions say, red to red, black to black, cap the white supply and ground the green.

So, I guess all this means that the old cooktop was wired improperly (that is to say, ungrounded) all this time?
Do I have any recourse but to have the circuit rewired?

Thanks for any guidance.



__________________
nsomniac is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 11:25 AM  
glennjanie
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,992
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Send a message via AIM to glennjanie
Default

Welcome Tim:
Follow the instructions to the letter; they are part of the UL approval on the cooktop and must not be changed or altered in any way to keep the UL seal in force.
Glenn



__________________
glennjanie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2008, 08:39 PM  
guyod
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Wind Gap, PA
Posts: 423
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

The White can be used as a ground wire it is connected to the same place as the ground would be in your service panel.. 240 volts circuits do not need a return(neutral/white). Some 240 devices need a neutral some don't. I think it has to do with powering 120v components of that device(fan,clock). So you old stove was not grounded but your new one will be using the same wire.

Make sure the wire is heavy enough gage though. 40amp needs a 8 awg wire and 50 amp needs 6 awg.

__________________
guyod is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2008, 05:25 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

The old circuit was legal and still is for replacement units. Yes, this was an "ungrounded" circuit, but there was an exception for appliances like this that they could be "grounded" to the neutral of the circuit under specific circumstances.

It is important to not this DOES NOT work in reverse. You CANNOT use a ground wire for a neutral under ANY circumstances. Never could.

Also, guy makes a very good point. The voltage is only half the equation. What is the amperage/wattage of the new unit and what is the size of the wire/circuit?

__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2008, 07:56 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,147
Liked 94 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

If you use the old neutral as a new ground, wrap some green marking tape around both ends (panel and stove).

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2008, 10:15 PM  
nsomniac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the guidance here, I really appreciate the education....

I should be ok on the amps...its not exactly a high end high-power unit...the manual recommends at a 30 amp circuit, which is what I've got.

Might be a chore sorting out the proper neutral to label at the panel...which looks like this:



__________________
nsomniac is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring New Cooktop Part 2 mreason711 Electrical and Wiring 6 12-15-2010 03:57 PM
Cooktop and oven wiring mercedespeugeot Electrical and Wiring 1 12-25-2008 05:30 PM
Range Cooktop Inoperable Oven Bob_Elnora Brown General Home Improvement Discussion 3 01-25-2008 02:42 PM
Two questions regarding outlet wiring Pastey Electrical and Wiring 5 04-14-2007 12:00 PM
Kitchen wiring questions! Quattro Electrical and Wiring 5 01-30-2007 07:36 AM