DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring workshop





Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 11:34 PM  
dthornton
inspector gadget
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Red Oak, IA, Iowa
Posts: 176
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 77

Default

Matt, I agree with the big guys that you would be better off with a small subpanel, The panel and wire would cost less than $150 at Home Depot, and would meet all the needs you may encounter. As for what you did meeting code? You need to make a phone call to your local city hall building inspector to find out what may or may not be allowed in your locality. Also, the work you did/will do may or may not require a permit and possibly inspection by the local boys.



__________________
dthornton is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 08:55 AM  
Jhilton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Default

I ran into the same scenario here recently, I ended up running 6/3 NM from my main panel with a single 50amp double post through conduit 45 feet to my storage building. Then to a 125AMP 8 space panel ($19.00) from Lowe's. Now I have a 220V outlet for my heater and 12 total 110V outlets ad 4 fluorescent lights. All at a total cost of less than $350. My biggest 2 expenses were ditch witch rental $75 half day and $150 for the 6/3 wire. I ran 12/2 to all my 110v and 8/3 to my 220v. I did all the work myself so saved on all the labor costs. My own little opinion for what it's worth is spend the few extra $ now to save yourself a headache later down the road if you do decide you want anything extra.



__________________

Last edited by Jhilton; 11-07-2012 at 08:59 AM.
Jhilton is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 09:06 AM  
Wuzzat?
Senior Member
 
Wuzzat?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,841
Liked 95 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Ray C. Mullin's book on resi wiring, Figure 4-8, suggests maximum voltage drops for deciding on using a subpanel or just adding on to your existing load center.
http://books.google.com/books?id=UvmE_6XsszcC&pg=PA110&lpg=PA110&dq=ray+mu llin+%22figure+4-7%22&source=bl&ots=4eJxhNeqau&sig=Z8KjDimfs09VTDRd lqpY9DhoVSU&hl=en&sa=X&ei=w4aaUND4GoW00QGopYCwAg&s qi=2&ved=0CCsQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q=ray%20mullin%20%2 2figure%204-7%22&f=false

__________________

Last edited by Wuzzat?; 11-07-2012 at 09:11 AM.
Wuzzat? is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 02:09 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jhilton View Post
..., I ended up running 6/3 NM from my main panel with a single 50amp double post through conduit 45 feet to my storage building.
Well there's a big violation. Obviously this was not inspected.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2012, 04:33 PM  
CallMeVilla
Senior Member
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,054
Liked 266 Times on 216 Posts
Likes Given: 105

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy petey View Post
Well there's a big violation. Obviously this was not inspected.
Should have run strands, not NM, in conduit . . . Ooops. Maybe this was a mis-typed sentence.
__________________
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2012, 04:55 AM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 427
Liked 26 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeVilla View Post
Should have run strands, not NM, in conduit . . . Ooops. Maybe this was a mis-typed sentence.
The biggie is that NM is NOT to be used in a wet location. A conduit underground IS most definitely a WET location.

UF would be legal but not at all recommended due to it's size.
I also hope it was a typo.
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2012, 07:47 AM  
ckelly10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Are you planning on doing this yourself? I tried to do some wiring myself in my garage once upon a time and thought I had done a good job until I started hearing cracking noises when I used the electrical equipment about 2 weeks later. Ended up calling a professional electrician in my local area who said that it was a good job I had called because my wiring was terrible and could have started a fire at any time. Think in future I will just stick to doing simple repair work from now on.



__________________
ckelly10 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
New outlet in workshop JeremyB Electrical and Wiring 8 02-04-2012 07:11 PM
Wiring new fan Amber Electrical and Wiring 1 10-14-2008 09:02 AM
Wiring 220 Kelly Electrical and Wiring 6 02-04-2008 04:08 PM
wiring violet General Appliance Discussion 3 11-03-2007 04:42 PM
New door on workshop msdataman37 Windows and Doors 4 06-30-2007 08:26 AM