DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > How to get these three outlets working?




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2017, 07:53 PM  
frodo
Senior Member
 
frodo's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,066
Liked 1198 Times on 936 Posts
Likes Given: 415

Default

so where are the outlets and switches?


Click image for larger version

Name:	print.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	14786  
__________________
Cogito, ergo armatus sum.

My advice is free, If I have helped you and you wish to help the site out with a gift
use this link
http://www.houserepairtalk.com/forum/...faq=supporting
frodo is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:23 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,751
Liked 475 Times on 421 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Are the switch, S3, and the recepticle/conductors, in question in the same box?


__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:25 PM  
farmerjohn1324
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 724
Liked 59 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoonyb View Post
Are the switch, S3, and the recepticle/conductors, in question in the same box?

Yes.

.......
farmerjohn1324 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:29 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,751
Liked 475 Times on 421 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

And there is no hot pair in that box?

And the switch does not energize the light?
__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:33 PM  
farmerjohn1324
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 724
Liked 59 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frodo View Post
so where are the outlets and switches?

I don't really have time. Someone's moving in tomorrow. He said he's okay with that outlet not working.

One thing I did notice was that breaker 3 (the one that controls everything near that outlet) has 2 wires coming out of it. It's the bottom red breaker in the pic. I tested these individually. Seems that one wire controls everything and the other one does nothing. There's also a loose black wire in the circuit panel.
Click image for larger version

Name:	0930172255.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	142.3 KB
ID:	14789  
farmerjohn1324 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:34 PM  
farmerjohn1324
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 724
Liked 59 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoonyb View Post
And there is no hot pair in that box?

And the switch does not energize the light?

The switch works fine. It operates the light.
farmerjohn1324 is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:45 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,751
Liked 475 Times on 421 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You need to put a wirenut on the loose black conductor at the top of the breakers.

The breaker #3 is a split breaker and controls 2 separate circuits.

If there is no reading of 120V from each screw, individually, to ground, after you have shut both breakers off and back on, 1/2 of the breaker is bad and should be replaced.

You also have an unused breaker space at the top of the left hand row of breakers, and you should take the 3rd conductor away from the red breaker an install it in its own breaker.

Installing a split, 20A, breaker like #3 will afford you a spare for future use.
__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum

Last edited by Snoonyb; 09-30-2017 at 10:00 PM.
Snoonyb is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2017, 09:47 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,751
Liked 475 Times on 421 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerjohn1324 View Post
The switch works fine. It operates the light.
How many conductors are in that box, and/or how many Romex?
__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 08:17 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 23,718
Liked 3054 Times on 2673 Posts
Likes Given: 5050

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerjohn1324 View Post
I am trying to replace the mobile home switch with a normal one. I can do this for outlets, but switches seem to be different. There are 2 brass screws, a ground, and a BLACK. What's the black? Is that where I put both white wires to?

I am in the process of using process of elimination to see which wires go where.
See the picture Frodo posted The power is at the light and comes to the switch on the white wire and goes back on the black. Just change them with wire for wire.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2017, 08:19 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 23,718
Liked 3054 Times on 2673 Posts
Likes Given: 5050

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerjohn1324 View Post
I am trying to replace the mobile home switch with a normal one. I can do this for outlets, but switches seem to be different. There are 2 brass screws, a ground, and a BLACK. What's the black? Is that where I put both white wires to?

I am in the process of using process of elimination to see which wires go where.
See Frodo's picture and just change wire for wire.


nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Outlets not working... Shuba Electrical and Wiring 7 06-18-2014 01:01 PM
Outlets not working mikec82 Electrical and Wiring 9 10-23-2013 07:37 PM
Outlets Not Working Landon Electrical and Wiring 7 02-04-2013 10:01 AM
Outlets not working MH2delboy Electrical and Wiring 1 12-23-2011 04:27 PM
Multiple outlets not working sadears Electrical and Wiring 19 11-29-2011 10:44 AM



Newest Threads