DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Running electrical wire in an offgrade house.




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-25-2009, 01:02 PM  
TallPaul
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default Running electrical wire in an offgrade house.

Hi all,

I have an old offgrade concrete block house in Jacksonville, FL built probably in the late 50's or 60's. The old gray non-grounded wire. The house has a 2 in 12 pitch roof as well: very shallow. I re-wired part of the house myself under permit from the city: kitchen and bathrooms to be specific (I tested for it, etc). I am now thinking of re-wiring the remainder of the house as the old cable is getting rather brittle.

My question is: If you were to re-wire a house with a shallow 2 in 12 pitch attic area that also had an offgrade area, what cable would you run where? All lighting fixtures and switches through the attic, and receps through the offgrade area?

Thanks!

Paul


TallPaul is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 02:19 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 470
Liked 44 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

What does "offgrade" mean?


speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 05:43 AM  
locknut
Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 75
Default

What kind of wiring did you use in the job you completed so far? Why do you think any further wiring would necessarily be different?
locknut is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 08:09 AM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,736
Liked 245 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 116

Default

What does the pitch of the roof and "off grade" (whatever that is) have to do with what wire you use?
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with running wire through galvanized pipe. cloudhopperdre Electrical and Wiring 11 03-29-2015 09:16 AM
Help wire running wire thru Attic.... Rockrz Electrical and Wiring 21 05-14-2013 06:31 PM
Running electrical outlets in cinder block garage? daddy4life85 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 3 12-16-2009 02:47 PM
Nonfunctioning socket - running electrical wire to outlet notwoohoo Electrical and Wiring 3 03-20-2009 04:49 PM
Running wire for my Generator SeattleDIY Electrical and Wiring 5 11-12-2008 07:02 AM



Newest Threads