porch- replace vs repair

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

normlynn

Reaction score
I have an old porch which is in bad need of repair (or something) I have talked to a few contractors. They all say tear it down and start over. I know they just want the business. My concerns are these: The porch is in okay shape structurally. the flooring and the roof need to be replaced. ( both are original from a redo in the 50's) I think the framing is undersized and it seems like there may be a foudation problem but I can't find signs of sinking. ( one side has a larger gap from the house than the other near the roof.) Also the support posts for the roof don't match up with the foudation blocks. Can I just support the foundation with extra posts? Sould I add more roof supports? If I tear it douwn, where do I start and how? I've never done a major tear out like this before. thanks

It would be hard to tell you where to start without seeing. Usually, you start tearing down a structure from the top; roofing, decking, rafters, beams, posts, etc. The problems you describe are potential hazards. If there is a gap between the framing members and the wall, it may take removal of the framing members to find something to attach to. The reason for the separation would interest me. If you're lucky, it may just be the trim boards coming loose. Contractors will hear certain flags; foundation, gaps, undersized framing, when you describe the problems, and they will tell you that a complete rebuild would be best.

If you do the tear off yourself, you will learn more about the structure than you will here. You will see how the rafters attach and the ceiling joist attachment. You may be able to see a better way to build when you put it all back.