Using Adhesive tiles on cement

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

repairnewbie

Reaction score
Does any one have experience placing adhesive tiles over cement? Our bathroom floor is a cement slab. I would like to use 12"X12" adhesive tile since I have no experience laying tiles of any sort.

According to Armstrong Flooring Vinyl Tile Installation Instructions
If subfloor is concrete:
o If the floor has been painted, make
sure the paint is completely dry and
firmly bonded to the floor.
o NOTE: Only self-adhering tiles can
be installed over a painted concrete
floor. Tiles that require adhesive
should not be used.
o Fill low spots with Armstrong S-183,
S-184 or S-194 Underlayment.
o The prepared subfloor must be
smooth, clean, dry and dust-free.

I made the mistake of putting vinyl tile down (with adhesive) on my enclosed patio slab. It looked good for a while, then the edges of each tile seem to curl. So I decided to take them up (what a job!) in order to put ceramic tile down. I scraped about half the room of tiles and adhesive, then realized why the tiles had come up to start with. The slab was wet! When my house slab was poured 30 years ago, they did not put a moisture barrier down and since I live on the Gulf Coast, the ground stays wet most of the year.
Now I don't know what to do, except to pay a tile person to come in and put water-resistant underlayment (cement board) down and then put ceramic on top of it. I don't even know if I can paint the stuff, provided I get all the old tile and adhesive up.
Any suggestions out there?

I have been trying to think of some suggestions for you, crispky, but all I keep coming back to is a moisture problem.