DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Is this wiring dangerous




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2017, 10:05 PM  
MikeIsMad
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 28
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Is this wiring dangerous

This weekend while in the attic replacing my attic ladder, I found something that I thought could be dangerous.
There is an outlet box for 4 outlets. 3 of these outlets are being used, but 2 actually power other outlets and the 3rd powers my driveway light. It seems these should definitely be hardwired, but I'm not sure if it could just be hardwired and enclosed into a box or if it would cause breaker load issues.

Thanks in advance for your response.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4931.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	13685


MikeIsMad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 10:13 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 23,712
Liked 3053 Times on 2672 Posts
Likes Given: 5043

Default

Yup that should be fixed up a little. Post some photos of the other stuff there. May as well look at all the adjustments at the same time.


nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 07:32 AM  
Kabris
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 191
Liked 42 Times on 36 Posts

Default

Yeah this setup is a bit of a head scratcher. At the very least, the 2 that are feeding other outlets should be hard wired. I also believe receptacles in unfinished areas like attics need to be GFCI protected.
Kabris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 08:29 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,502
Liked 266 Times on 227 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Cord cap on NM cable is not permitted.
JoeD is online now  
kok328 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 08:59 AM  
slownsteady
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 6,457
Liked 1161 Times on 963 Posts
Likes Given: 1907

Default

Shouldn't be too hard to fix. If the load is okay now, it won't change by hardwiring. AS long as the wire aren't too short....
__________________
Learn something every day
---
SnS
slownsteady is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 09:33 AM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,735
Liked 245 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 116

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Cord cap on NM cable is not permitted.
Was lookng at this and for the life of me, could not come up with any code violations. Yes it seems wrong but, could really find a show stopper.
Not sure why they would do this but, one outlet feeding another? Why?
kok328 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 10:21 AM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,747
Liked 472 Times on 419 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You can hardwire the other outlets, follow and conform to stapling and attachment requirements, but what have you gained, other than another place to plug an extension cord into.

Other than being stiff and unmanageable, there is nothing wrong with using romex for an extension cord.
__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 11:52 AM  
markfothebeast
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 15
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Aside from "Code" and legality issues, the safety of this depends on the gauge wire powering this outlet, the amperage of the breaker, and how many amps are drawn.

If that's 14/2 running to the box I'd definitely do something about it. If it were my home I'd join these wires in a junction box and add an outlet nearby (if needed).

I've seen some pretty bad wiring jobs and this doesn't appear nearly as bad. I've got a buddy that nearly put a 100 amp sub panel in his garage with 30 amp breakers powered by an existing 14/2 .
markfothebeast is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 12:31 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 23,712
Liked 3053 Times on 2672 Posts
Likes Given: 5043

Default

I still want to see how the other boxes are wired, no telling what this guy was thinking.
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 04:47 PM  
MikeIsMad
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 28
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Hey guys I'll get up there and snap a few more photos this evening. I was actually hoping to find an outlet up there, so I could connect my sawzall and lamp, but wasn't expecting to see this. My first line of business was to replace this ladder that was barely being hung on. Then I wanted to start cleaning up the attic. We moved I to this house 1 month ago and it appears they used the attic for a dumpster during a remodel.


MikeIsMad is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
PVC Blinds... Dangerous? cshahar Decorating and Design 15 10-08-2017 02:29 PM
HELP!!! Dangerous Window - Can I Repair or Do I Need New Window? ALiterateGal Windows and Doors 4 03-14-2016 05:43 AM
Is rusty bathroom water dangerous? LRenwick Plumbing Forum 3 02-25-2015 02:16 PM
Is this dangerous? FreeStuffRockz Flooring 20 03-24-2009 03:28 PM
Dangerous insulation? pjk27 Green Energy and Sustenance Living 5 12-05-2008 04:24 PM



Newest Threads