addition in gaarge

House Repair Talk

Help Support House Repair Talk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Will

Reaction score
Hey
I hope this is not only for "diy" this forum. I'm not diy I'm a professional carpenter. I do work for other people. I only post here because I need 'refreshers." T any rate heres a few questions but bear in mind I have quite a bit of experience, been doing it for 6 years on my own.
Customer has garage attaches to house. Stairs go from house floor level down into garage, about 3 or 4 foot drop. foundation wall is visible, is side of garage, right under house floor level. She wnats stairs moved and new house level floor built out about 11 feet, 2 rooms built on top of this new floor, walls going all the way up to cieling of garage. stairs will enter one of the rooms on the side.
Is this in all respects the dsame framing Id use for an ordinary outdoor deck? I'd have rim joists haning on 4 by 4 posts rather than wrapping arounf to make corner edege to sheet rock to easitly. (by the way should it be green rock in a garage?). Also what is the fire code for garages?
Whats the recommendation for how to attach framing ( whatever I use ) to existing concrete floor? L brakcets and lag screws into drilled concrete? rebar or other bar up into post? adhesive?
Can I get a refresher on what the maximum lengthe for a joist to run before being supported is? I beleive 8 feet. In this case I assume Id have to go with a beam at about 5 .5 feet in the middle of the deck/floor framing. The ledger board is going to have to bolt into concrete which is kind of a hassle. I assume this would just be drilling into the concrete and attaching with lag screws.
When you talk about a "fire wall" ( she was mentioning this term) you simply mean fire retardent sheet rock, right?