DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > HVAC > Thermostat clicks but nothing happens


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2016, 05:18 PM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,703
Liked 232 Times on 198 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o2284200 View Post
Thanks!
Hoping someone more knowledgeable than I might be able to look further at the wiring diagram to see if there are provisions for a panel or door safety switch.
Nothing in this diagram, it's very basic. Are there any others on the unit?


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2016, 05:28 PM  
kok328
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,703
Liked 232 Times on 198 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default

BE CAREFUL!!
Turn power on to unit.
Put your volt meter leads on L1 & L2 on the TBI in your diagram.
240Volts?
Now put your leads on the orange and black wires leading to the CT control transformer.
Still 240Volts?
Now put your leads on the brown and read wires on the CT.
24Volts?


kok328 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 03:31 PM  
o2284200
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: , South Florida
Posts: 219
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
BE CAREFUL!!
Turn power on to unit.
Put your volt meter leads on L1 & L2 on the TBI in your diagram.
240Volts?
Now put your leads on the orange and black wires leading to the CT control transformer.
Still 240Volts?
Now put your leads on the brown and read wires on the CT.
24Volts?
Thanks!
A bit confused and preparing to call ac tech but here's what I checked:

1) Pulled purple fuse partially out, just enough so that I can get my multi meter probe to make contact with the "blade" on the fuse.
READINGS:
Touched the red probe to one side of the fuse and got no reading: 0.
Touched the red probe to the other side of the fuse and got no reading: 0.


2) Checked for 24vac, as follows....
Power on...Meter to 200vac...The probes fit in bottom of top terminals (red and brown), where arrows were added to pic...
NO READING: 0

3) Checked for 240vac, as follows....
Power off...Slid the bottom terminals (orange and black) down slightly to expose the metal blades of the transformer.
Power on...Meter to 750vac...Placed one probe on orange and the other on black...
READING: As high as 4 (four).
__________________
I'm tackling projects and making progress with your help, thank you!
If I don't reply in a timely manner, I apologize!
o2284200 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 10:28 PM  
o2284200
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: , South Florida
Posts: 219
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

OK, I bit the bullet and called in a tech for a service call. He came out and first checked the thermostat and then went right for the breaker inside the air handler, at top...Power coming in...No power going out. Then he went outside to the condenser and found a wire burnt out, at the top.
$89 for diagnostics OR $350 for repair (replace breaker & repair top of wire).
What would you do?


__________________
I'm tackling projects and making progress with your help, thank you!
If I don't reply in a timely manner, I apologize!
o2284200 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 05:00 PM  
o2284200
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: , South Florida
Posts: 219
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I replaced the breaker ($59 at local electric supply store) and repaired the wire, in the condenser, as recommended...I now have a/c! Total out of pocket $123 ($64 diagnostics + $59 breaker) vs. quote of $350 = SAVINGS of $227! Thanks to all, who helped along the way!
__________________
I'm tackling projects and making progress with your help, thank you!
If I don't reply in a timely manner, I apologize!
o2284200 is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 03:13 AM  
WyrTwister
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 126
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts

Default

The 2nd photo looks like a contactor ?

Glad you got it repaired . :-_)

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2017, 05:19 PM  
slownsteady
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 5,985
Liked 1027 Times on 851 Posts
Likes Given: 1689

Default

I would be watching that wire. If the cause of the burn out wasn't corrected, it could happen again.
__________________
Learn something every day
---
SnS
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2017, 01:20 AM  
WyrTwister
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 126
Liked 15 Times on 14 Posts

Default

Strip back enough insulation to expose shiny copper . Clean / wire brush the screw / contact point . Tighten securely .

Often caused by insufficient " tightness " or vibration loosening the fastener .

God bless
Wyr
WyrTwister is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 07:59 AM  
o2284200
Member
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: , South Florida
Posts: 219
Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slownsteady
I would be watching that wire. If the cause of the burn out wasn't corrected, it could happen again.
Thanks!
Definitely, will keep an eye on, in future, now that I know. One issue, if it happens again is, I won't have enough wire to reach contact.
__________________
I'm tackling projects and making progress with your help, thank you!
If I don't reply in a timely manner, I apologize!
o2284200 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2017, 08:41 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 22,041
Liked 2570 Times on 2260 Posts
Likes Given: 4292

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o2284200 View Post
Thanks!
Definitely, will keep an eye on, in future, now that I know. One issue, if it happens again is, I won't have enough wire to reach contact.
I think inside there you can just add a pigtail.


nealtw is online now  
o2284200 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Another thermostat Question. house92 HVAC 2 01-21-2013 07:29 PM
Looking for a new thermostat! BritKnee HVAC 2 06-30-2011 03:03 PM
Thermostat Help Please!!! kittycutie2007 Electrical and Wiring 6 10-17-2009 08:47 PM
Help me rig my thermostat! aces11 Electrical and Wiring 9 11-13-2006 08:46 AM
Need a new thermostat? buckethead HVAC 2 10-12-2005 06:03 AM