DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Tools > cutting concrete block with a table saw




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2014, 12:16 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 2,557
Liked 424 Times on 346 Posts
Likes Given: 646

Default

The cuts here would be the seams between the caps. Smooth and straight for a flush fit. Two passes will cut all the way through-I just have to be spot-on with the second pass. That's why I thought the larger blade on the table saw would be good.


slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 12:30 PM  
stadry
Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: hilton head & atlanta, sc & ga
Posts: 132
Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

i don't think a table saw has enough rpm's to run a diamond blade for masonary work BUT i've been wrong before,,, demo saws run about 5 - 6,000rpm's as i recall & blades are specifically made for them


stadry is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 05:18 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,534
Liked 1354 Times on 1195 Posts
Likes Given: 2336

Default

table saw turns a 3400rpm
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 09:43 AM  
Chris
Guru of nothing
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
Chris's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: , Southern California
Posts: 2,078
Liked 340 Times on 248 Posts
Likes Given: 57

Default

What about a skil saw with a diamond blade? I have one and use it frequently. It cuts deeper than a angle grinder.
Chris is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 12:32 PM  
slownsteady
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 2,557
Liked 424 Times on 346 Posts
Likes Given: 646

Default

Diamond blade on a 71/2" craftsman circular saw cuts well without much effort. Sure, a demo saw would be nice, but if I ran out and bought every tool for every purpose....., and renting one for just a couple of cuts isn't economical.
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 03:17 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,257
Liked 186 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 463

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
What about a skil saw with a diamond blade? I have one and use it frequently. It cuts deeper than a angle grinder.
Yup, and just make sure you plug it into a GFCI outlet.... because you need to pour water on the brick as you cut it...or you will have dust like you won't believe.. It also cools the blade.
Have a hose just running water over the cut at a trickle works best.
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2014, 06:56 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,534
Liked 1354 Times on 1195 Posts
Likes Given: 2336

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inspectorD View Post
Yup, and just make sure you plug it into a GFCI outlet.... because you need to pour water on the brick as you cut it...or you will have dust like you won't believe.. It also cools the blade.
Have a hose just running water over the cut at a trickle works best.
We use these saws in the rain while standing in the mud all the time. If you do get a shock it is only when the motor is running so you are sharing the load and not getting full value.
Most gfci only kick off when your extention cord falls in the water. And some don't kick off when you get a shock even if they pass the test
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 12:48 PM  
mako1
Junior Member
 
mako1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Central IL
Posts: 100
Liked 30 Times on 24 Posts

Default

I would think it would be dangerous and scar the hell out of the table.Plus sending all kinds of dust into the motor.You know it will bind.A block is not going to run thru a tablesaw smoothly.
Use an angle grinder with a diamond blade and be done.Score them as deep as you can all around.Break it off and clean it up.Still a couple minute job an not taking a chance of screwing up a table saw.
mako1 is offline  
stadry Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2014, 10:16 AM  
stadry
Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: hilton head & atlanta, sc & ga
Posts: 132
Liked 29 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default

we use skilsaws w/diamond blades however our saws are mounted on rollercarts for conc scoring & cutting


stadry is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
help cutting window hole in cider block wall dmariothomas Walls and Ceilings 3 02-19-2012 11:55 PM
Cutting concrete foundation for a gas line lindat Framing and Foundation 3 11-07-2011 09:31 PM
Can I run electrical under concrete slab without cutting a trench starfish Electrical and Wiring 11 06-01-2011 09:29 PM
Precautions when cutting concrete Outbacker Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 9 03-27-2009 06:36 AM
cutting hole in block wall rlarkin70 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 4 06-07-2007 05:23 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS