DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > General Home Improvement Discussion > Hard-wiring in-wall fireplace


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2017, 08:37 AM  
vinny186
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Deerfield, Illinois
Posts: 144
Liked 23 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Hard-wiring in-wall fireplace

i have an electric fireplace that is corded and gets mounted within wall studs. There is a nearby outlet I'm going to tap into for power but I don't know how to deal with the cord. It has a 3 pronged plug. Is it possible to simply cut off the plug and run the coated wire into the electrical box and attach the ground wire to the box?


vinny186 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 10:11 AM  
bud16415
Fixer Upper
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
bud16415's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Erie Pa, Pa
Posts: 3,836
Liked 1247 Times on 959 Posts
Likes Given: 664

Default

I don’t think that would be to code. You can shorten the cord maybe pulling the extra inside the unit even. I would make the opening the right width but longer so an outlet could be mounted below the unit and then plug it in. maybe even turn the box 90 degree so the plug would not be sticking out.

If you could post a pic of the unit and the wall we could see better what you got.


bud16415 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 10:34 AM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 21,801
Liked 2536 Times on 2229 Posts
Likes Given: 4224

Default

They don't cover that in the instructions?
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 02:11 PM  
vinny186
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Deerfield, Illinois
Posts: 144
Liked 23 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

It's meant to be plugged into an outlet but there is no room behind the unit for an outlet because it's in a basement going up against the foundation and if I put the outlet to the side of the unit, within the framed out space, the cord will show.

After inspecting the back of the fireplace, I noticed a little cutout where the cord is and I might be able to notch out the bottom 2x4 it rests on and fit an outlet there so it's flush with the bottom surface. I may have solved my problem but I'll include a pic anyway.
Click image for larger version

Name:	p.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	85.6 KB
ID:	13755   Click image for larger version

Name:	fp.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	13756  
vinny186 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2017, 02:30 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 21,801
Liked 2536 Times on 2229 Posts
Likes Given: 4224

Default

I think you can change the cord out for a piece of romex 14/2 and hard wire it.
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 09:00 AM  
slownsteady
Administrator
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
slownsteady's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Newton, NJ
Posts: 5,895
Liked 1008 Times on 834 Posts
Likes Given: 1662

Default

Doesn't seem right that a unit meant to be permanently installed would have a plug. What do the installation instructions and /or owners manual have to say about it?
__________________
Learn something every day
---
SnS
slownsteady is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2017, 11:21 AM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,784
Liked 284 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The answer to post #1 is yes.

If you remove the cord and power it with romex it can also be powered from that recep, IE., 6 0f one, a half dozen of another.


__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Mounting TV above fireplace(wiring) Tjosterh Electrical and Wiring 20 12-09-2015 05:46 PM
Fireplace wall overhaul? BlakeJ Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 8 10-27-2014 08:06 PM
huge wall fireplace -- need help kejoni Flooring 13 01-04-2014 01:44 PM
redesigning fireplace/wall dadilly General Home Improvement Discussion 23 11-20-2011 07:16 PM
Chandelier hard wiring tessiem13 Electrical and Wiring 4 03-10-2010 08:40 PM