DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Help with Outside Garage Lighting


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2017, 03:46 PM  
Afrowookie
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 64
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Petawawa, Ontario.

Even though I said I am willing to take down walls or part of the ceiling, I am not willing to take down the whole lot of it just to find out the cause. If I go directly below where the wire should be underneath the switch, all I see are tiles in the basement ceiling. These tiles are not drop ceiling tiles that are easy lifted up and set back into place. I have easily broken one or two of these tiles already to look for a cable wire, so I really don't want to break anymore unless I have to.

So needless to say I want this wire tracer to try to determine at least the general location before removing tiles or parts of walls. And I even have my doubts that this Sperry device will detect far enough through a wall/ceiling/floor. But I haven't used one before so I maybe wrong.


Afrowookie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 04:28 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,784
Liked 284 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I wouldn't think that breaking walls is a necessity, at this point.

If the tiles are the typical 12X12 interlocking you can remove one to determine where the tongue is, so that they can be fairly easily replaced.

However, if you are unwilling to indulge in a defined method, there are still some avenues that may or may not result in any satisfaction.

JoeD has express a level of faith in the Fluke.


__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 05:10 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,388
Liked 220 Times on 186 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Quote:
Petawawa, Ontario.
6 hour drive. Sorry too far.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2017, 05:13 PM  
nealtw
Contractor retired
 
nealtw's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 21,801
Liked 2536 Times on 2229 Posts
Likes Given: 4224

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
6 hour drive. Sorry too far.
It was worth the try.
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 04:21 PM  
Afrowookie
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 64
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts

Default

So what you're saying is that the Fluke one is better than the Sperry one I am thinking about getting?
Afrowookie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 05:33 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,784
Liked 284 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Actually I'm saying only that JoeD has stated a positive experience with the Fluke.

Also when you read the specs from the Fluke site, the use restrictions which exist on the Sperry site, are not present on the Fluke site.

I've used neither of these 2 products, because I'm old school, process of elimination.

However, I have both Sperry and Fluke measuring devices and find the Fluke to be of marginally superior quality, while the Sperry are a good general use device.
__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 06:26 PM  
Afrowookie
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 64
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Ok, thanks for clearing that up. I would like to buy the better one. Might just take a little longer for shipping.
Afrowookie is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2017, 07:01 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,784
Liked 284 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

It is available from HD and from here; http://www.flukenetworks.com/content...FReHswod9BkFuA
__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 05:27 PM  
Afrowookie
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 64
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Just ordered the Fluke Networks Pro 3000. Just have to wait till it comes in, figure out how to use it and then I will report back with results.
Afrowookie is offline  
nealtw Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2017, 05:36 PM  
Snoonyb
Senior Member
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,784
Liked 284 Times on 252 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Afrowookie View Post
Just ordered the Fluke Networks Pro 3000. Just have to wait till it comes in, figure out how to use it and then I will report back with results.
Good deal, and as long you are confident in your ability to isolate the conductor/s you need to test for their location.


__________________
Illigitimas non-carborundum
Snoonyb is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing fluorescent lighting with LED lighting help. Avant Electrical and Wiring 43 12-16-2016 10:03 AM
What is the best lighting for these outdoor lighting fixtures cfclay Electrical and Wiring 20 06-14-2016 08:59 AM
Garage ceiling for garage remodel dexterdog Walls and Ceilings 7 03-05-2010 01:34 PM