DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > fishing wires




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2006, 11:57 AM  
Kerrylib
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 157
Default fishing wires

I am wanting to replace my oh so nifty aluminum wiring in my 40 yr old house.

One question I haven't been able to get resolved is about running the new wiring in the walls.

When I fish the new wire into place, do I need to anchor it to the studs within the 8-12 inches of the box? If so, are there any tricks to doing it other than opening up the wall to get access to pound in a staple?

Another question is do I need to pull out the old wire. I'm sure I should, if nothing more than to just make sure there isn't any confusion created in future projects when someone comes across a wire and can't figure out where it goes, etc.

Thanks for any info or suggestions.


Kerrylib is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2006, 04:58 PM  
JoeD
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,503
Liked 266 Times on 227 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

The answer to both of your questions is no. If the wires are not live you can leave them in the walls.


JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 09:44 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,490
Liked 265 Times on 209 Posts
Likes Given: 772

Default You could...

You could also mark them so no one in the future has any worries.
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2006, 04:38 PM  
iqchicken
Junior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Definitely mark them.. heh.

There are a number of options available for that:

Heat shrinkable labels, wrap around, printed thermal or dot matrix, laser, engraved steel bands, tons more
__________________
Getting tired of working? TAKE A BREAK!
iqchicken is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 11:00 AM  
Kerrylib
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 157
Default

Hey, Thanks for the comments.

I plan to remove any wiring that I can get to, however what's in the wall and stapled in place is likely going to stay right there. I'll try to label any loose ends I have to leave behind to indicate they are scrap metal to be taken to the recycler.


Kerrylib is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Fishing cable behind wall? vinny186 General Home Improvement Discussion 24 01-27-2017 06:00 PM
went fishing frodo General Chit-Chat 13 08-25-2016 08:59 AM
The Fishing thread. Chris General Chit-Chat 19 07-26-2016 04:01 AM
Fishing ethernet using existing siamese camera cable DIYgub Electrical and Wiring 4 06-01-2016 04:43 AM
Wiring 5 wires cooktop to 4 wires electrical box kimouette Electrical and Wiring 8 03-19-2013 11:18 PM



Newest Threads