DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 15 amp or 20 amp


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 07:41 PM  
suboveryde
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: charlotte, nc
Posts: 2
Default 15 amp or 20 amp

I am rewiring my lighting for 2 bedrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen, hallway, bathroom, and front porch (it sounds like a lot) a total of 8 light fixtures four of which are ceiling fans. Is it ok to run all that on one 15 amp circuit using 14/2 or does it need to be 20 amp on 12/2?


suboveryde is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 10:34 PM  
serpentine5
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Posts: 26
Default

yes, it is OK to run it all on a single circuit, but I would not do it. I would separate them up. Kitchen and dining room on one, both bedrooms on one, and the bathroom hallway and living room on one, and the porch on whatever room is closest (normally the living room). Running all these with 14/2 is fine. If you want them all on a single circuit, then I would go with 12/2 just to cover bases.
You can calculate the wattage and get your total amperage, but you would need to have all of your fixtures on hand to get the wattage. there is a conversion that I do not have memorized, but you can get it in an Ugly book and then you will know if the total amps used would require 12 or just 14. Breaking it up to 3 circuits will make it better. Plus, you do not want every light to out in the house if a breaker pops...


serpentine5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:47 AM  
JoeD
Established Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,320
Liked 196 Times on 164 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Since you are rewiring you need to meet current code. The bedrooms at least need to be AFCI protected. Depending on which code cycle yo are on many of the other might need to be AFCI as well.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 09:58 AM  
kok328
Established Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,560
Liked 201 Times on 170 Posts
Likes Given: 86

Default

No, it is not Ok to run all of this on a single circuit. The kitchen and bathroom alone will be too much for a single circuit. Ever turn on a microwave, bathroom exhaust fan and a hair dryer at the same time?
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:05 PM  
JoeD
Established Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,320
Liked 196 Times on 164 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
No, it is not Ok to run all of this on a single circuit. The kitchen and bathroom alone will be too much for a single circuit. Ever turn on a microwave, bathroom exhaust fan and a hair dryer at the same time?
It's all lighting. Except for the AFCI requirement there is no problem running it on the same circuit.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 08:03 PM  
kok328
Established Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,560
Liked 201 Times on 170 Posts
Likes Given: 86

Default

My apologies, I didn't realize we were talking about just lighting; I should have read the original post more carefuly.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 10:17 PM  
serpentine5
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Posts: 26
Default

I never think of AFCI because it is not required here where I live.


serpentine5 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off






Newest Threads