DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Solder Instead of Wire Nuts?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2011, 09:29 PM  
stevieray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: manasquan, nj
Posts: 3
Default Solder Instead of Wire Nuts?

Hello everybody.

I am currently rewiring much of my home. It is a converted commercial space, built in the late 40's with additions done at least once per decade... so the place is veritable museum of the evolution of electrical practices (and plumbing and insulation, etc...).

Today I ran across something I've never seen before -- electrical splices made with solder instead of wire nuts! In my younger days I was an electronic hobbyist, so I know electronic connections are commonly made using solder... but I've never heard of it done on house wiring. These connections were then wrapped with some kind of resin impregnated tape, which is as hard as a rock. As you can imagine, it is truly a joy to work on these things...

Anyway, my question is this: Would these things pass an inspection today? As it is I will be replacing many of them to accomplish the job I am doing, but I wonder if I should seek out all of them and redo them in the interests of safety?



__________________
stevieray is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 07:41 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 981
Liked 107 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Connections that old likely don't have gounds so seeking them out and replacing the cables would be a good idea. The connections themselves are fine.



__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2011, 08:21 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

With wiring that old and added on to so many times I would also be looking at the incoming power line to see if it needs to upgraded (power company most often will do this for free. Making sure there's at least a 200 amp. service with breakers not fuses.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 01:07 AM  
stevieray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: manasquan, nj
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the responses guys.

The power and breaker boxes have already been upgraded, as it was a commercial space up until recently. It has two 200 amp panels. As for the grounds, well that's one of the reasons I am doing all this work. At some point an aluminum ground wire was daisy-chained between some of the outlet/switch boxes, but not all. And some of the old wire is BX, grounded through the armor, but the insulation is crumbling in much of it.

I guess I'll just replace it all. A bit more work, but I'll sleep better that way.

__________________
stevieray is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2011, 03:38 AM  
frozenstar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 253
Default

I agree on checking the incoming power lines with the old wirings. Hope it went well.

__________________

[I]“You can always get someone to love you, even if you have to [B]do it yourself[/B]”[/I]
[I][SIZE="1"][/URL][/SIZE][/I]

frozenstar is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2011, 10:06 PM  
stevieray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: manasquan, nj
Posts: 3
Default

I am just curious if anyone else has ever run across this way of doing it. I've been doing kitchen/bath renovations for a decade now, and I've never seen it before.



__________________
stevieray is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Could wire be bad? broadbill Electrical and Wiring 7 10-26-2010 09:39 PM
Solder w water dripping? test_dummy Plumbing Forum 4 08-20-2010 10:04 PM
What should I do with this wire? DavieGravy Electrical and Wiring 4 08-16-2010 07:12 PM
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 10:18 PM
Half Work Half Dont.....going nuts! guz168 Electrical and Wiring 4 10-14-2009 08:38 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS