DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Can I run electrical under concrete slab without cutting a trench




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2011, 08:15 AM  
starfish
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_21986_55328
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: vero beach, fl
Posts: 1
Default Can I run electrical under concrete slab without cutting a trench

Hi, I am new to this forum. We bought a house and will *hopefully* be closing on it by the end of this week. It is a relatively new home that was a forclosure. It has tile (the same tile) throughout the home. There are no "leftover" tiles that we can find and we don't know where the tile came from. It's a little unusual. We are planning on redoing the kitchen and would like to have an island with a cooktop. But, we don't want to disturbe the tile by cutting a trench through the concrete slab, since we don't have any way of replacing the tile. Is there any way to bore under the slab and install a conduit for the electrical and just cut a hole in the concrete where the island will be? Many thanks for any help/advice.


starfish is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 11:10 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_55335
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,077
Liked 130 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If you have enough money you can do anything.
I could see this being done from outside possibly. They would bore from the outside in a line that would cross both locations and then bore down to meet it. Might be cheaper to just retile the whole area.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 05:40 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_55389
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,183
Liked 1307 Times on 1150 Posts
Likes Given: 2210

Default

Always willing to try anything once. I would drill thru the foundtion below the leval of the floor and foam and see if I could work a pipe into the area of the island. If that doesn't work you have done little dammge, and if it does work you could cut hole in the floor under the island and cupboard, If no cupboard in that area then dig into outside wall chip away some concrete so you can install conduit or underground wire.
I would try it.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 11:03 AM  
CallMeVilla
Contractor
 
CallMeVilla's Avatar
registry_dropdown_17830_55412
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,473
Liked 491 Times on 379 Posts
Likes Given: 202

Default

If you cut out a larger section from under the existing cabinet, you "could" dig under the slab and get to the location of the island stub-out. "Boring" is too limited because you cannot make the turn. However, the tools to make that 90 degree dig don't exist! If you start outside, you could dig a trench large enough to undercut the foundation -- but that means under the footing depth. I wouldn't crawl in there for all the $$$ in China.
CallMeVilla is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 09:28 PM  
edlank
Member
registry_dropdown_6386_55421
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Hershey, PA
Posts: 53
Default

Is the kitchen tile floor really on a concrete slab? No framing and crawlspace under there?
edlank is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:33 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_55423
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,183
Liked 1307 Times on 1150 Posts
Likes Given: 2210

Default

Ed, this is pan slab or slab on grade floor. What I have seen here is the slab on grade will have foam on the inside of the foundation or under the floor or both and a pan slab has all that foam and another on the outside. The bottom line is the house is built on a basement floor.
Let me make this clearer. If you drill into the foundation with 1 1/2 drill 6" down, 8 or 10 inches in you will find sand. Drive a 1" diamiter steel pipe in there to the area of the island. Remove that pipe and put in the conduit with string in it. Dig a hole in the island area and at the wall so you can put the elbows on your conduit.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 09:08 AM  
reillypainting
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_21916_55471
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 2
Default

No you can't, because you will have city codes that will need it below 8-16." It'll depend on the type of conduit or wire you will be using. Cement slab could be on top after.
reillypainting is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 01:53 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_55477
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,183
Liked 1307 Times on 1150 Posts
Likes Given: 2210

Default

Reilly is right , check with local inspectors first.
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 09:14 PM  
Raindem
Member
registry_dropdown_7183_55594
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoita, AZ
Posts: 72
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Is it possible to work a pillar into your design? Then you could run the wires through the ceiling and bring them down from above.
Raindem is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:30 AM  
Ithinktoomuch
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_22436_56714
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Posts: 1
Default Does the wire have to be underground? Save money

Could you possibly run the wire upwards into the ceiling? (Do you have low ceinings?) if you run the wire upwards (center of island) you could frame around the conduit and incorporate a tiled (pillar) inthe middle of the island! Just a suggestion!


Ithinktoomuch is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to insulate concrete slab cibula11 Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 13 01-14-2010 05:27 PM
Precautions when cutting concrete Outbacker Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 9 03-27-2009 06:36 AM
Concrete slab vs. crawlspace? debraanne Framing and Foundation 4 08-04-2008 11:40 AM
cutting a hole for an electrical outlet daniel2229 General Home Improvement Discussion 9 07-22-2008 04:24 PM
Concrete Slab adobe fixer Framing and Foundation 0 03-23-2006 10:23 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS