DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > 60amp service now, 100 to house?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2006, 06:46 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default 60amp service now, 100 to house?

The house I have has 60 amp service at the moment. However, two wires are coming from the elec pole to the house.



What I have been told it, that this means I realy have 100 amp coming to the house and that when I change the box (glass fuses now, going to breakers), I can use a 100amp main and magically have 100 amp now.

Is this accurate? Or has someone been blowing smoke?


dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 06:54 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

There's a rating on your meter base that specifies the maximum amperage.
You can't tell jack about your service just by looking at the wires.
It is best to not exceed the meter base rating.
Is this an install that you are going to have inspected?
I have worked in Southern Illinois and I saw some scary things.


Welcome to the forum!
Tom


__________________
[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]
Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 06:55 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Square Eye
There's a rating on your meter base that specifies the maximum amperage.
You can't tell jack about your service just by looking at the wires.
It is best to not exceed the meter base rating.
Is this an install that you are going to have inspected?
I have worked in Southern Illinois and I saw some scary things.


Welcome to the forum!
Tom
I'll have to check the meter then as well. Closing on the house soon, just trying to get some ducks in a row. My advice was from the old man, hence the double checking. He likes to know it all, when he sometimes doesn't.

Last edited by dakuda; 08-06-2006 at 06:58 PM.
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 07:23 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default

All pointless now. House has aluminum wire coming in, 60 amp max.

Going to have to pay to upgrade service now. Not a problem, I budgeted for somethings lke this to happen.
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 09:38 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Aluminum or not, those service entrance wires in that pic are larger than 60 amp wires.

In fact, many supposed 60 amp services are actully 100 amp.
__________________
Please post back and let us know how it turns out....
petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 12:10 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,262
Liked 187 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 468

Default Hmmm....

Sounds like someone did not get a qualified home inspection?

I agree, those lines coming in look larger than 60 amp.
Just can never tell from the pictures. Sometimes I wish I had the Enterprise so I could say, beam me over there Scotty!

The service entrance cables are ok if they are AL. Thats how most places are. These are a larger guage wire with grease at the lugs. Dont ever remember seeing copper entrance cables.
Anyone else?

Just call an electrician or 3 and get more advice and price.
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 02:19 PM  
petey_racer
Licensed Electrician
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Copper SE cable is all they used on Long Island, at least 20 years ago.
Never saw a piece of AL wire or cable until I moved upstate.
__________________
Please post back and let us know how it turns out....
petey_racer is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 03:00 PM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,262
Liked 187 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 468

Default Wow..........

Dont tell anyone but, with the price of copper....Long Island has enough electrical problems without people obsconding with their copper cables.

Without the electricity of course.
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 04:07 PM  
dakuda
Senior Member
 
dakuda's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 174
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inspectorD
Sounds like someone did not get a qualified home inspection?
I had the inspection, he just never mentioned anything was wrong or a concern there.

I made a few calls today, and found out that once I replace the interior panel (will go with 125, I think), ConEd will replace the service lines and meter for free. I just need to have the interior ready for it before they do so, which makes sense. Seems to be a reasonable solution.
dakuda is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 04:37 PM  
Square Eye
Senior Member
 
Square Eye's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,273
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

That is good news!

In Kentucky, for the most part, you would be responsible for everything from the top of the mast down.


__________________
[URL="http://www.houserepairtalk.com/announcement.php?f=39&a=6"][size=3]The Ten Commandments of House Repair Talk[/size][/URL]



[URL="http://home.bellsouth.net/p/s/community.dll?ep=16&groupid=289528&ck="]Square Eye's home page[/URL]
Square Eye is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Patio roof to house attachment question mobilemike Roofing and Siding 2 09-23-2008 07:31 AM
New foundation, old house Begreen Framing and Foundation 46 08-05-2007 12:19 PM
House On Slab Leaks NIGHTMARE Extrinsicdin Bricks, Masonry and Concrete 2 03-16-2007 04:07 PM
Leaking house on slab NIGHTMARE Extrinsicdin Framing and Foundation 2 03-16-2007 12:04 AM
Electrical Service Capacity Gary Allhiser Electrical and Wiring 1 02-18-2006 02:11 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS