DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > General Appliance Discussion > Range Top Works, Oven & Front Control Doesn't?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-15-2011, 07:33 PM  
Mainah
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 3
Default Range Top Works, Oven & Front Control Doesn't?

Hey all, I'm hoping some of you can help. We've just moved into a new home with a Flat Top Fridgidaire Range that was manufactured in 2006. The complete range & oven worked when we went through our home inspection and when we moved in (yesterday). Now today, the range top works, however, neither the front control panel or the oven seems to be getting any power to it.

Any ideas as to whether this could be due to the appliance itself or the electrical connection? Perhaps some combination of the two?

Thanks in advance for any solid leads!


Mainah is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:02 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,252
Liked 1457 Times on 1285 Posts
Likes Given: 2513

Default

Have you tried flipping the breakers?


nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:26 AM  
inspectorD
Housebroken
HRT_ADMIN.png
 
inspectorD's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,265
Liked 187 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 472

Default Or

And if that does not work, it could be a loose electrical connection. If one leg of the 220 gets loose, you only get power to half the appliance.
Then you shut down the main breaker and tighten the lugs on the cuicut, or call an electrician.
And if that does not resolve the issue, call your appliance folks...it's broken.
__________________
Just My
Made in the
inspectorD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:20 AM  
Mainah
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 3
Default

Yup, tried the basics like flipping the breaker. We just had some electric work done to update the line into the house and consolidate two old panels. I'm thinking that perhaps this could have lead to the loose connection?
Mainah is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 08:12 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 14,252
Liked 1457 Times on 1285 Posts
Likes Given: 2513

Default

Thats where I would start. Sometimes it can be the breaker.
nealtw is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 02:40 PM  
audg
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: port charlotte, florida
Posts: 1
Default

the glass top of the stove cracked with a small hole in it. it is on its side. Can i fixed it on my own?
audg is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 04:25 PM  
Mainah
Junior Member
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SLC, UT
Posts: 3
Default Thanks!

The info on checking the work done on the new panel definitely saved me some $! The connection for the range was not grounded correctly by the electrician initially...


Mainah is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Removing front window from front door... is it possible? PatDoody Windows and Doors 6 05-03-2011 07:27 PM
Choosing between 1- and 2-oven range ilyaz General Appliance Discussion 4 03-18-2010 11:01 AM
1950 Magic Chef Oven---How do I get the oven to light? fuma General Appliance Discussion 6 06-08-2009 02:39 PM
Range Cooktop Inoperable Oven Bob_Elnora Brown General Home Improvement Discussion 3 01-25-2008 03:42 PM
One thermostat works, the other doesn't churley702 HVAC 1 11-22-2006 09:27 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS