DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > GFCI Breaker Won't Reset




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2011, 12:46 PM  
LSUCoonie
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_22863_57997
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2
Default GFCI Breaker Won't Reset

I have a GFCI breaker feeding the outlets in my bedroom. I was doing some drywall work in the bedroom and needed to disconnect one of the outlets. I turned off the breaker and disconnected the outlet. When I reconnected the outlet and tried to turn the breaker back on, the breaker wouldn't turn on. It simply sits in the middle position and won't click on. I've tried disconnecting the outlet again and then turning on the breaker, but with no luck.

Is this a breaker problem or an outlet problem? I don't want to buy a new breaker if I don't have to.

Thanks.


LSUCoonie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 05:40 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
registry_dropdown_20526_58010
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Upper Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Posts: 13,171
Liked 1303 Times on 1146 Posts
Likes Given: 2201

Default

Turn the breaker all the way off before turning it on, then try it with that plug disconnected.


nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:01 AM  
TxBuilder
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
TxBuilder's Avatar
registry_dropdown_1_58022
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,677
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Make sure none of your receps are wet. Inside and outside.

Also.. breakers do go bad sometimes and with anything, sometimes you get a lemon. How old is this breaker?
TxBuilder is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:04 AM  
LSUCoonie
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_22863_58023
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2
Default

I figured out what the problem was. During the work, there was an old outlet that was disconnected and terminated improperly. I capped the wires properly and everything is back to normal. Thanks
LSUCoonie is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 10:06 AM  
TxBuilder
HRT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
TxBuilder's Avatar
registry_dropdown_1_58025
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,677
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LSUCoonie View Post
I figured out what the problem was. During the work, there was an old outlet that was disconnected and terminated improperly. I capped the wires properly and everything is back to normal. Thanks
Good to hear!


TxBuilder is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI breaker problem a4rye Electrical and Wiring 3 09-26-2008 08:37 AM
Newly installed GFCI will not reset banterer Electrical and Wiring 6 06-03-2008 12:18 AM
GFI Won't Reset Goose Electrical and Wiring 5 02-17-2008 05:41 PM
GFCI at Control Panel won't reset jim2468 Electrical and Wiring 6 12-12-2007 05:13 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS