DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Breaker trips, CGFI doesn't




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2011, 08:04 PM  
ajmuntz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 3
Default Breaker trips, CGFI doesn't

A couple of times during the past few weeks, my wife has been using the hair dryer in the bathroom when the dryer suddenly stops operating and then, maybe 5 or 10 seconds later, the circuit goes out. The bathroom is on a CGFI circuit. When I check it, the circuit breaker has tripped on the breaker panel but the reset button on the CGFI outlet has not popped out. What might be causing that? I thought the CGFI would always trip before the circuit breaker because it is more sensitive to faults.



__________________
ajmuntz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 08:20 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

GFCI.

Ground fault circuit interrupter.

Is the GFCI old? Is it on a GCFI breaker? Does both plugs on the GFCI work?



__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 08:24 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,762
Liked 928 Times on 828 Posts
Likes Given: 1599

Default

The dryer is not ground faulting, it is drawing to many amps. The fact that the dryer quits first might be a hint.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 08:58 PM  
ajmuntz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your help!!

GFCI ... Sorry. The GFCI outlet is about a year old. I don't know whether the circuit breaker is GFCI, but I assume it is, since it was installed by a electrician. Yes, both plugs on the GFCI outlet work.

If the dryer is not ground faulting, does that mean the problem it with the dryer and not the electric system in the house? Is it time to pitch the hair dryer and get a new one?

__________________

Last edited by ajmuntz; 07-21-2011 at 09:00 PM.
ajmuntz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-21-2011, 09:31 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,221
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

A non-GFI breaker is designed to trip if too many amps are ran through it.
This over amperage can be caused by a short or to high a current.
The GFI outlet does not trip in the even of over amperage.
Conclusion would be that the GFI outlet is working but the hair dryer is pulling too many amps and the breaker is doing it's job.

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2011, 05:42 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

Most hair dryers come protected (AFCI). Have you seen if another hair dryer does the same thing?

__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2011, 08:26 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
 
Blue Jay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 252
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

I have seen a weak breaker, try on another circuit of same rating and see what happens.

__________________
Blue Jay is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2011, 12:44 AM  
ajmuntz
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your continued advice. The problem doesn't occur every time. While the hair dryer is used every day, the problem has only happened twice in the past two or three weeks. My wife purchased a new hair dryer today. We'll see if that solves the problem. If not, then I guess we'll know it's somewhere in the home's electric system.

__________________
ajmuntz is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-23-2011, 09:25 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

Could be a sensitive GFCI, I have seen to many of those!

__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 11:44 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,762
Liked 928 Times on 828 Posts
Likes Given: 1599

Default

Check other things running on the same breaker. turn off the breaker and see what else has no power, hood fan in kitchen or?



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat goes blank and furnace breaker trips when trying to turn on the A\C jhutch HVAC 3 07-04-2011 08:46 AM
GFCI trips jwoita Electrical and Wiring 9 09-26-2009 08:13 PM
flip switch off, breaker trips shan2themax Electrical and Wiring 45 08-21-2009 08:47 PM
GFI trips during storms mgregory Electrical and Wiring 4 03-09-2009 05:04 PM
solenoid removed and now AC breaker trips every minute farakh HVAC 2 06-13-2007 03:32 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS