DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Sub Panel Advice




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2011, 07:36 PM  
sandiec
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Binghamton, New York
Posts: 1
Default Sub Panel Advice

Just purchased a new house and at the inspection the inspector advised me to separate the ground and neutrals in the sub panel that feeds the garage. How can this be done? Also I have an older style main panel that does not have a single breaker to shut off all circuits there are 5 which were grandfathered in.
This brings me to my next question I am installing a 220V hot tub. Can I feed the 40A breaker from the sub panel? So now question 3 how would I derive the 220V from the panel (how do you accomplish this) I have done different electrical jobs wiring sockets light fittings fans etc but never taken on anything this big and i want to get it right for obvious reasons. I do intend on put a GFCI outside for this as well as the manadtory shutoff within 10ft of the tub.
Thanks
Sandie



__________________
sandiec is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2011, 09:15 PM  
gatorfan
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandiec View Post
Just purchased a new house and at the inspection the inspector advised me to separate the ground and neutrals in the sub panel that feeds the garage. How can this be done? Also I have an older style main panel that does not have a single breaker to shut off all circuits there are 5 which were grandfathered in.
Does the feeder from the main panel have four wires (black/hot, red/hot, white/neutral, green/ground)? If so, it's straightforward: just buy a ground terminal block for your subpanel, kill power, install the block, and move the grounds (and the ground from the feeder) to it. If you don't have a ground from the main panel, you would need to run one first. If your garage is detached and has a separate grounding system, you would need to tie that into the grounding block too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandiec View Post
This brings me to my next question I am installing a 220V hot tub. Can I feed the 40A breaker from the sub panel? So now question 3 how would I derive the 220V from the panel (how do you accomplish this) I have done different electrical jobs wiring sockets light fittings fans etc but never taken on anything this big and i want to get it right for obvious reasons. I do intend on put a GFCI outside for this as well as the manadtory shutoff within 10ft of the tub.
Thanks
Sandie
You need to do a load calculation for the existing circuits on the sub. What size wire is used for the feeder to the subpanel? What size breaker is used in the main panel to feed the sub? That will help you determine if this existing feeder can handle the new load. Fair warning that you probably don't have 40A "extra" capacity, but you never know....

220V just means that both legs from your service (red and black) supply a single appliance (using a double breaker). Panels are designed such that consecutive slots are fed from alternating legs.

Matt
__________________
gatorfan is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-30-2011, 07:32 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

please post Pictures?

__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
hot tub sub panel help seaox Electrical and Wiring 4 10-20-2009 07:53 PM
Sub Panel Question FrankW Electrical and Wiring 2 01-02-2009 06:05 PM
Panel or subpanel rjarrett001 Electrical and Wiring 5 02-14-2008 06:22 PM
How do I hide the circuit panel box? sablescorpion Flooring 1 09-27-2006 01:58 PM
Service Panel onryx2 Electrical and Wiring 2 08-21-2006 08:18 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS