DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > replacing wood furnace blower motor

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2011, 02:09 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: munising, mi
Posts: 1
Default replacing wood furnace blower motor

I am in the process of replacing my blower and motor on my wood furnace. My current motor has a run capacitor. The (used)blower and motor that i will be replacing with does not have a run capacitor and only has two wires. Can anyone tell me if this be ok? Do i need a motor with a run capacitor?

rustyreel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2011, 03:47 PM  
Blue Jay
Senior Member
Blue Jay's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: La Rue, Ohio
Posts: 268
Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 23


The capacitor just helps the motor get going quicker. If it is like the blower on my wood furnace it is just a small squirrel cage, once it gets started it runs until the fire is out. So if yours is about the same it would be ok without unless you are turning a large fan.
Blue Jay is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to Take Out Furnace Blower Motor BRIANL00 HVAC 2 09-20-2011 05:37 AM
Bearing replacement on furnace exhaust blower motor Nhaven HVAC 2 03-22-2010 08:30 PM
Older Furnace Blower Motor doesn't turn on 1victorianfarmhouse HVAC 13 02-13-2010 10:11 AM
Replacing a GE Blower motor - any others fit? blackdmd HVAC 1 04-27-2009 04:27 PM
Use of furnace Blower fan for wood burning fireplace JUNEBUG 88 HVAC 2 12-20-2008 07:19 PM

Newest Threads