DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Need help wiring outdoor receptacle




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2011, 01:59 PM  
Bullitt930
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24202_62059
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default Need help wiring outdoor receptacle

I just bought an outdoor GFCI that I would like to wire up to an indoor receptacle. When I took the cover plate off and pulled the receptacle out of the wall I noticed it is wired up with 3 wires (+ ground) in and out. The bottom outlet is switched. How do I wire this correctly?


Bullitt930 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 04:11 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_62064
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,311
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

That all depends if you want the GFI outlet to be switch or not.
What you most likely have is two hots, one constant and one switch, a neutral common to both plugs on the outlet and a ground wire.
You will extend a run of the neutral, ground and one of the two hots (depending on your preference switch or unswitched) to the LINE lugs on your GFI.


kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 05:30 AM  
Bullitt930
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24202_62085
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I don't want the GFI switched. Each white wire is going to a silver lug by itself, the black wires are together on one brass lug, and the red wires are together on one brass lug. Which wires do I extend through the wall to the GFI?
Bullitt930 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 07:17 AM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
registry_dropdown_4883_62092
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,311
Liked 144 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Extend the wires that are constant/not switched power.
Per your post this would be the top wires ((black or red), white & the ground).
From there reference the instructions that came with your GFI outlet.
If you don't have the instructions, attach the black or red extended wire to the brass lug on the LINE side of the GFI outlet (top) and attach white extended wire to the silver lug on the LINE side of the GFI outlet (top) and attach green extended wire to the green lug on the GFI outlet.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2011, 07:18 AM  
isola96
Senior Member
 
isola96's Avatar
registry_dropdown_24199_62093
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lagrangeville, New York
Posts: 437
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullitt930
I don't want the GFI switched. Each white wire is going to a silver lug by itself, the black wires are together on one brass lug, and the red wires are together on one brass lug. Which wires do I extend through the wall to the GFI?
Can you provide picture of the outlet you have in there now with wires attached?
isola96 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 06:05 AM  
Bullitt930
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24202_62339
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 8
Default

I hope this picture is good enough.
1023110755.jpg  
Bullitt930 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2011, 08:29 PM  
JTGP
Member
registry_dropdown_23118_62377
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

TURN OFF THE POWER FIRST!!!

Is there something else that is switched? (Another outlet?) If you want it still switched wire nut the BLACK wires.

What set of wires are coming from the source?

The source red wire goes on the line side BRASS and its white wire SILVER line side of the GFCI

The other red connects to the load side BRASS and with the white wire also the the SILVER load side of the GFCI.

Ground (GREEN or BARE wire) to the green screw.
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2011, 09:38 AM  
evstarr
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24579_63576
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 29
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

The advice above is dead on correct imo but Since that receptacle is backstabbed, I would suggest pulling out the conductors and nutting them together by color and adding a pigtail to reattach the receptacle with using the side screws.


evstarr is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Single switch to receptacle jeff7 Electrical and Wiring 11 09-18-2012 08:44 AM
Bathroom receptacle not working.. JJman Electrical and Wiring 8 08-04-2011 01:27 AM
Adding New Receptacle SavvyCat Electrical and Wiring 12 01-26-2011 06:39 AM
receptacle above ceiling kok328 Electrical and Wiring 2 11-05-2010 03:59 PM
Installing a new receptacle help! Rehdarh Electrical and Wiring 3 09-04-2009 06:33 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS