DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Knob & Tube -- Cellulose Insulation?




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2011, 03:45 PM  
rlowe82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default Knob & Tube -- Cellulose Insulation?

Hi--

I posted this in the Insulation subject, but realized it may be more suited here. Moderator: please delete my previous post.

I am in Los Angeles in a house that was built in 1921. It has knob and tube and is still running electricity that way. We've had a licensed electrician come and inspect all the wires and breaker box and retrofit all the plugs to be grounded. We asked him if cellulose could be blown in over the knob and tube in the attic and he said that'd be fine because the wires are still in good shape.

I called an insulation company with experience in knob and tube and they said it's fine, as well. Especially because cellulose is non-flammeable.

I still have reservations, though. Despite both the electrician and insulation company saying it's safe, I'm worried. A lot of forums say to replace the knob and tube completely.

Should I be? Has anyone else blown in cellulose over knob and tube?

We are planning on only blowing in the cellulose in the attic, not the walls.

Thank you!



__________________
rlowe82 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2011, 05:51 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,740
Liked 924 Times on 825 Posts
Likes Given: 1594

Default

Might be a question for your insurance company.



__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2011, 10:28 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 447
Liked 39 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nealtw View Post
Might be a question for your insurance company.
What would an insurance company know about electrical and building codes?
__________________
speedy petey is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2011, 08:43 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 985
Liked 108 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Unless you have some different type of K&T than everyone else it is a free air system and is not supposed to be buried in insulation.

How did the electrician retorfit the receptacles to be grounded without replacing the K&T?

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2011, 09:06 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,366
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

That was my first question also, if he just changed the outlets that's against code, the outlets will still not be grounded. The only exceptable way to do it is to change to a GFI outlet. It still would not be grounded but would prevent someone from getting killed.
Old knob and tube can not be spliced or worked on to replace just some of it, it would all have to come out at the same time.
If you for some reason had all the walls exposed replacing the wiring would be a no brainer to have done.
If you do rewire then I'd also bet the incoming wire from the pole should be changed and a new breaker panel installed.
It would be expencive to do but a huge safety feature and increase the resale price of the home.

__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2011, 07:07 PM  
JTGP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 68
Default

I would like to see what the Electrician did....

Can you provide a picture of a outlet he made with a ground.

PLEASE TURN POWER OFF FIRST!!!

__________________
JTGP is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-31-2011, 11:45 PM  
nealtw
Contractor
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: vancouver, b.c.
Posts: 10,740
Liked 924 Times on 825 Posts
Likes Given: 1594

Default

Speedy: Some insurance companys will not cover a house with K&T covered.

__________________
nealtw is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-01-2011, 07:27 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 985
Liked 108 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Some insurance companies will not cover a house with K&T, covered or not.

__________________
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-03-2011, 11:53 AM  
rlowe82
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Hi everyone,

This thread has been really helpful.

I spoke to an electrician who said he could replace the knob & tube that is in the attic to Romex so that it would be safe to have cellulose insulation around it. His process would be to take the knob & tube that runs up and inside the walls and add a junction box, where he would then change out the existing wiring and add the Romex. The Romex would run throughout the attic, which he said is far safer to cover in cellulose.

Any thoughts? Does this seem like a solution? He said that it would be a huge job to replace ALL of the knob & tube, including the wiring that runs in the walls and through the lathe & plaster, so this would be a good way to ensure safety while still having insulation.

Please let me know!!! Thank you much in advanced.

__________________
rlowe82 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-04-2011, 08:31 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,366
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I think you will find it's illegal to do that. I'm sure one of the electritions on these boards will back me up on that. Several reasons are the fact the insulation on the old wires will be crumbling by now so there's no 100% sure way to make a safe connection, old wiring will have no ground but the new wires would so I'm sure someones going to connect up a grounded outlet and have no real ground. That old wire is most likly under sized.
I big job to replace the wiring, yes but well worth it. It will increace the value of the home, give you the chance to add more outlets, make the home a lot safer, no more over loaded circuts.
You would be shocked to see what's behind those walls as far as the wiring goes. Splices with no juntion boxs and just old rotted tape around the wires, burned wiring, places where critters have eaten through the insulation.

I see it evertime I open up a wall in every old house I've worked on.
One I found had caught on fire and had burned up the whole stud bay but for some reason did not burn down the house.
All he has to do is add outlets in the baseboards, not up into the walls.
I'd also guess those walls have no or little insulation inside them.



__________________

Last edited by joecaption; 11-04-2011 at 08:36 AM.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Cellulose over Knob & Tube rlowe82 Insulation and Radiant Barriers 1 10-28-2011 04:08 PM
Blown in cellulose insulation LISAinTN Insulation and Radiant Barriers 14 04-13-2011 11:49 AM
Blown in Cellulose Insulation watersda Insulation and Radiant Barriers 13 01-15-2011 08:17 AM
insulate over old knob-and-tube wiring? Bru Electrical and Wiring 6 11-07-2010 05:56 AM
knob and tube wiring info wanted. wienerwater Electrical and Wiring 3 09-30-2006 10:04 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS