DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > XE90 Gas Furnance, LED 4 blinks




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 09:27 AM  
thanksagain
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 6
Default XE90 Gas Furnance, LED 4 blinks

Hi, I'm new here and don't know how to post but Ive been reading this thread,

Someone mentioned the Open High Limit Switch on a Trane XE 90, (LED blinking 4 times) I think thats whats wrong with my unit, where is it located? There are two wires going to a sensor on the fire chamber but no reset switch, might that be it, do I replace it, just unscrew it and put a new one in? If it's not resettable.



__________________
thanksagain is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2011, 07:08 AM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thanksagain View Post
Hi, I'm new here and don't know how to post but Ive been reading this thread,

Someone mentioned the Open High Limit Switch on a Trane XE 90, (LED blinking 4 times) I think thats whats wrong with my unit, where is it located? There are two wires going to a sensor on the fire chamber but no reset switch, might that be it, do I replace it, just unscrew it and put a new one in? If it's not resettable.
You might have to take some pic. with the doors off the furnace to get help on the limit switch If there is a small switch on the burner, burner box, or inducer these are small limit switches, some times reset able. If you have a down flow furnace with the blower near the top. you would probable find a hi limit switch back in there beside the blower or even screwed to the blower and some furnace have them there that are reset able.
Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2011, 04:45 AM  
Fitmiss
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul52446m View Post
You might have to take some pic. with the doors off the furnace to get help on the limit switch If there is a small switch on the burner, burner box, or inducer these are small limit switches, some times reset able. If you have a down flow furnace with the blower near the top. you would probable find a hi limit switch back in there beside the blower or even screwed to the blower and some furnace have them there that are reset able.
Paul
The question is why is your unit reaching high limit. It doesn't necessarily mean it is the high limit switch. In my situation, my blower wasn't going on so it was triggering the high limit because the unit was working too hard.
__________________
Fitmiss is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE90 Furnace Fan Always On Espritman HVAC 1 08-22-2009 06:52 PM
Trane XE90 TheGunMan HVAC 0 06-04-2009 05:53 PM
trane xe 90 blinks 6 times debyag HVAC 3 04-04-2009 10:32 AM
Amana furnace, no heat, red light blinks 3 times, fan works. azjost HVAC 1 04-09-2008 05:12 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS