DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > XE 90 pressure switch error code




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 12:01 PM  
Singerboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default XE 90 pressure switch error code

I have had twenty some years experience in the hvac field, but havent done it for fifteen yrs. I looked at a buddies furnace today, trane XE 90, started the cycle, everything ran fine. Good ignition, good flame, etc. When the main blower started, I noticed the draft inducer seemed to pick up rpms as well, didnt know if that was part of the design. Shortly after the main blower came the lights started flashing three times"pressure switch error". But the stumper was that the furnace kept running, it didnt kill the burner. I cycled the t stat several times waiting each time for the furnace to stop, same thing each time, error code, but flame and blower stay on. Apparently my expertise is somewhat dated, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.



__________________
Singerboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-21-2011, 01:44 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Look around at some of the other posters questions on the exact same problum and see what they did to fix it.
That's a really old system that always had trouble. It's been replaced with XR95 and the parts info and even the manuals are getting hard to find for that old one.



__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2011, 06:47 AM  
Singerboy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks Joe. I had looked around a bit before signing up. It seems most of the questions talk about three flashes and no heat. Aside from the three flashes this furnace seems to be operating properly.

__________________
Singerboy is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-22-2011, 08:12 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,361
Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

HVAC repair questions? Ask an HVAC technician ASAP

Check this site out, there's live Trane service people on line.
__________________
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Trane XE 90 pressure switch eddie HVAC 70 12-17-2013 06:14 PM
Trane XE90 - pressure switch error (with pic) FmrLCpl HVAC 6 11-09-2013 02:21 PM
Trane XE 90 - normal no call for heat (error code) Edd HVAC 5 10-15-2010 10:57 PM
Trane XE90 Pressure switch code. Truth? showngo2000 HVAC 7 10-13-2008 05:26 PM
central heating error code 31 bonehead HVAC 0 02-06-2008 10:00 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS