DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > how do I tie into power before a switch.




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-27-2011, 10:07 AM  
zookeeper00
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24782_64368
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default how do I tie into power before a switch.

I want to add a light and switch in my hallway from the power in my bathroom light


zookeeper00 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 11:07 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_64372
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,461
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Depends on if the incoming power is runing to the light or the switch first.


joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:20 PM  
zookeeper00
Junior Member
registry_dropdown_24782_64375
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

incoming power is to light first
zookeeper00 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:18 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_64387
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,461
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Kill the breaker first!
How to Install an Electric Switch
This can also be done with a wireless switch. Heath makes one.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 06:39 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
registry_dropdown_728_64417
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,054
Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Also depends on if the circuit also contains the bathroom receptcle. If it does, then by code you can not tap this circuit to run devices outside the bathroom.
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:17 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
registry_dropdown_21184_64420
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,461
Liked 72 Times on 59 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Is there an outlet in the hallway? If so you could tap off of that.


joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Still power glinka Electrical and Wiring 10 07-27-2011 06:44 PM
Possible bad switch or outlet cause power outage in three rooms? Fiero2 Electrical and Wiring 4 06-01-2011 10:32 PM
power vent ironknees4ever HVAC 2 06-05-2010 07:39 AM
No power for 50 hours Wuzzat? HVAC 4 02-10-2010 12:23 PM
any carvers? power or otherwise? milehigh_woodcrafter Carpentry and Woodworking 0 04-06-2006 09:58 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS