DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > how do I tie into power before a switch.




Help Support House Repair Talk by donating using the link above.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2011, 11:07 AM  
zookeeper00
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default how do I tie into power before a switch.

I want to add a light and switch in my hallway from the power in my bathroom light


zookeeper00 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:07 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,981
Liked 260 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 70

Default

Depends on if the incoming power is runing to the light or the switch first.


joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 01:20 PM  
zookeeper00
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Default

incoming power is to light first
zookeeper00 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:18 PM  
joecaption
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,981
Liked 260 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 70

Default

Kill the breaker first!
How to Install an Electric Switch
This can also be done with a wireless switch. Heath makes one.
joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 07:39 AM  
JoeD
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,483
Liked 259 Times on 220 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Also depends on if the circuit also contains the bathroom receptcle. If it does, then by code you can not tap this circuit to run devices outside the bathroom.
JoeD is online now  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 08:17 AM  
joecaption
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Hartfield VA, VA
Posts: 1,981
Liked 260 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 70

Default

Is there an outlet in the hallway? If so you could tap off of that.


joecaption is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
How to tell if a Dewalt Miter Saw has a bad power switch markh Tools 2 01-24-2017 07:30 AM
Power to light then switch, outlet between? scott23 Electrical and Wiring 8 12-11-2013 09:21 AM
Still power glinka Electrical and Wiring 10 07-27-2011 06:44 PM
Possible bad switch or outlet cause power outage in three rooms? Fiero2 Electrical and Wiring 4 06-01-2011 10:32 PM
Wiring a power cut-off switch Duncan27 Garage & Workshop Forum 2 09-12-2008 08:31 AM



Newest Threads