DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Replacing 2 prong outlet + wires might have been switched




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 08:48 PM  
SBay_ecologist
Junior Member
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Santa Clara, california
Posts: 23
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kok328 View Post
And what makes you think the junction box is grounded ?
Good question. I am being told that in older buildings they are. However, I would like to make sure that this is the case.

How would I determine if the junction box is grounded?

Thanks


SBay_ecologist is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 04:43 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,347
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

To check if a box is grounded, you'll need a voltmeter.
Put one lead of the meter to the known hot wire and the other lead to the junction box.
If the box is grounded, you'll get a reading of 110-120 VAC.
If the box is not grounded, you will get a reading of 0 VAC.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 09:27 AM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,096
Liked 138 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Even with 120 volt reading it still might not be a valid ground by code. Certain types of armored cable will show a ground connection but are not valid grounds.
JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Restoring a hot switched outlet... JackB_Nymble Electrical and Wiring 6 09-08-2009 05:48 PM
Switched Lights in an Outlet Circuit drewje Electrical and Wiring 5 07-21-2009 11:57 PM
change outlet w/ 3 wires to GFCI Dave928 Electrical and Wiring 10 05-14-2008 07:44 PM
Switch/Outlet not working (6 wires) fb0605 Electrical and Wiring 5 03-23-2008 10:33 PM
Converting two prong to three prong plugs heavyfoot Electrical and Wiring 3 07-12-2006 10:24 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS