DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > Appliances > HVAC > My new Nordyne furnace doesnt want to stay running




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-13-2011, 11:23 PM  
19buick61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default My new Nordyne furnace doesnt want to stay running

I have a Nordyne furnace 904639k kg7sc 038d-23a. The furnace was installed about a month ago in the horizontal position. When the furnace starts, it will run for usually 5-10 mins then the flame goes out. When the flame goes out the inducer runs for another 2? minutes then the blower motor runs for another 2 minutes. As soon as the blower turns off, the inducer turns right back on and the cycle starts all over. Sometimes after the first cycle the flame goes out as soon as the blower comes out and sometimes it runs up to about 10 minutes. Their are no codes flashing on the LED lights. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Rick



__________________
19buick61 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 09:42 AM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default My new Nordyne furnace doesnt want to stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19buick61 View Post
I have a Nordyne furnace 904639k kg7sc 038d-23a. The furnace was installed about a month ago in the horizontal position. When the furnace starts, it will run for usually 5-10 mins then the flame goes out. When the flame goes out the inducer runs for another 2? minutes then the blower motor runs for another 2 minutes. As soon as the blower turns off, the inducer turns right back on and the cycle starts all over. Sometimes after the first cycle the flame goes out as soon as the blower comes out and sometimes it runs up to about 10 minutes. Their are no codes flashing on the LED lights. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Rick
Are you saying that the furnace burner comes on for 5 to 10 mi. and the blower does not come on all that time. If the blower is run by the electronic board, then that board is bad. paul


__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 10:06 AM  
19buick61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

The blower does come on a minute or two after the burner ignites.

__________________
19buick61 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 12:51 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default My new Nordyne furnace doesnt want to stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19buick61 View Post
I have a Nordyne furnace 904639k kg7sc 038d-23a. The furnace was installed about a month ago in the horizontal position. When the furnace starts, it will run for usually 5-10 mins then the flame goes out. When the flame goes out the inducer runs for another 2? minutes then the blower motor runs for another 2 minutes. As soon as the blower turns off, the inducer turns right back on and the cycle starts all over. Sometimes after the first cycle the flame goes out as soon as the blower comes out and sometimes it runs up to about 10 minutes. Their are no codes flashing on the LED lights. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Rick
It sounds like every thing on the furnace is working right. You are saying that when the burner turns off, the stat is still calling for heat, so its not coming up to the set point? You need to check the W post to C post on the board when the unit stops and see if you still have 24 volts there. Another check is try turning the stat all the way up and see if it keeps going.
A lot of things can cause this problem your have.
Thermostat setting not set right.
Limit switch opening,
Problem with drain
Being that there are no codes i am wounding if the problem is in the stat.
What kind of stat do you have? ways it replaced with the furnace? does it have a heat amp. setting in the stat? Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 01:36 PM  
19buick61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Correct, it shuts down before coming up to temp. I jumpered the stat and it was still shutting down. I think its a honewell, I'll have to double check. It was new with the furnace I'm not sure what a heat amp is. I'll check the W and C post on the board after work.

__________________
19buick61 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 02:51 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19buick61 View Post
Correct, it shuts down before coming up to temp. I jumpered the stat and it was still shutting down. I think its a honewell, I'll have to double check. It was new with the furnace I'm not sure what a heat amp is. I'll check the W and C post on the board after work.
What i am trying to do is eliminate the stat as being the problem. Some stat's have Heat anticipator in them that have to be adjusted to the amps going through them. This can make the cycle of the furnace longer or shorter
Other stats have small dip switches in them or on the base that have to be set of a 90+ furnace. Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 04:35 PM  
19buick61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

I read in another forum on here to take the wire for the w terminal and put it on the r terminal to eliminate the stat as a potential problem. is this correct?

__________________
19buick61 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 05:22 PM  
paul52446m
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Houghton Lake, Mi.
Posts: 435
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default My new Nordyne furnace doesnt want to stay running

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19buick61 View Post
I read in another forum on here to take the wire for the w terminal and put it on the r terminal to eliminate the stat as a potential problem. is this correct?
That is right. If it still trips off then it is in the furnace. Paul
__________________
paul52446m is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 06:18 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,229
Liked 116 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 65

Default

Paul, since the furnace was installed horizontally, could it be that the flame is not hitting the flame sensor enough to keep the system running?

__________________
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2011, 07:02 PM  
19buick61
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 7
Default

So I put my meter on that circuit and i was at about 24.5 v the furnace cycled 3 times in the course of raising the temp about 10 degrees.



__________________
19buick61 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
York Stellar Plus NG furnace wont' stay running-HELP johnceberhardt HVAC 24 07-03-2012 06:18 AM
Very old forced air gas furnace keeps running. auntybb HVAC 16 12-06-2011 03:54 PM
Nordyne E2EB-017HB FURNACE?? Ereed HVAC 1 01-20-2010 08:56 PM
roof furnace that won't stay lit jcnm General Home Improvement Discussion 1 03-12-2008 02:18 PM
furnace/blower works. ac doesnt. jonchinn@gmail.com HVAC 7 09-20-2006 09:27 AM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS