DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Wiring new 3 wire electric

Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2012, 04:49 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default Wiring new 3 wire electric

I had an old GE electric cooktop that I'm replacing with a new Whirlpool. The old cooktop controls are on the range hood. there are 19 wires at the connection:
5 red, 5 white, 4 yellow, 4 black, and 1 blue. (see photo) I started to cut the wires before figuring out how to do it. the new cooktop has 1 black, 1 red, and 1 copper wire.

How in the world should I wire this up?

Any help would be appreciated.

photo(2).JPG   photo(3).JPG  
srbrown73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 05:51 PM  
Supporting Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,385
Liked 157 Times on 133 Posts
Likes Given: 71


The range hood will no longer control the new stove.
The wires don't look like they are big enough to handle the electrical current.
I think that you'll find that the range hood is powered by the same combination of wires that your new stove needs. You will have to attach your new stove to the main feeds for the range hood (not the control wires).

kok328 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 07:28 PM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2

Thanks for the help. Yeah, I'm ok with losing the range hood controls. I'll back track to find the main feed.

Thanks again.
srbrown73 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:08 PM  
speedy petey
Lic.Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 453
Liked 41 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 19


Originally Posted by JamesJones View Post
There is a clear indication in it that which wire will be conneced there. If dont understand still, review the manual it will clear your concept more because i had also followed the manual instructions because every model have a bit different specifications.
Are you in the US/Canada? Your posts are impossible to understand. They read like poor translations.
speedy petey is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:07 AM  
Junior Member
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2

I think he's saying 'RTFM'


thereza is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Cooktop four wire to three wire satish Electrical and Wiring 2 06-03-2011 06:16 PM
Wiring New Cooktop Part 2 mreason711 Electrical and Wiring 6 12-15-2010 04:57 PM
Wiring a cooktop HELP !! tiorunder Electrical and Wiring 1 01-09-2010 11:44 AM
Wiring New Cooktop nsomniac Electrical and Wiring 5 02-13-2008 11:15 PM
Electric glass cooktop? quiltingal General Appliance Discussion 1 10-06-2006 05:37 PM

Newest Threads