DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Electrical and Wiring > Ground wire question




Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-22-2012, 12:30 PM  
tractng
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 175
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Ground wire question

I am wiring 2 shop lights together (for one switch). My question is regarding the ground wire.

Do I combine all the ground wires together (3 total, 2 from the lights, and one from the wire) and from the other end were I tapped in the hot wire (current outlet), screw the ground cable to the green screw?

If its not the ground screw on the outlet, do I use the the ground screw from the switch?

TIA,
tntrac



Last edited by tractng; 01-22-2012 at 01:09 PM.
tractng is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 06:31 PM  
JoeD
Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 1,104
Liked 144 Times on 117 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

All ground wires connect together all the time.


JoeD is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 08:38 PM  
JeremyB
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 133
Likes Given: 12

Default

If you dont have a ground wire, what do you do with a fixture that comes with a ground wire?
JeremyB is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 02:49 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,349
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremyB View Post
If you dont have a ground wire, what do you do with a fixture that comes with a ground wire?
If you do not have a grounded circuit then you just ignore the ground wire that comes with the fixture.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:05 PM  
JeremyB
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 133
Likes Given: 12

Default

Thanks Kok, what would I do with that grounded wire? I see on the new bracket that comes with the new fixture a green screw, do I just loop it around that?
JeremyB is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:38 PM  
kok328
Supporting Member
HRT_SUPPORTER.png
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Grand Blanc, MI
Posts: 2,349
Liked 148 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default

If your incoming wires are just hot & netrual and the new fixture has a ground wire and green ground screw then yes, you can just loop around the screw but, the fixture will NOT be grounded.
kok328 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 08:22 AM  
JeremyB
Senior Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 133
Likes Given: 12

Default

yeah I only have a hot ( black ) and neutral ( White ) wire. I wish my house had a grounding wire but its a 40 year house and I assuming they didnt run ground wires through houses back then?

Thanks for the help on what to do with the grounding wire, Like you said it wont be grounded. It will just be there for show,lol

Is it possible to have a grounding wire run through the house, I can only imagine thats alot of construction and cost?


JeremyB is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter DIY Home Repair Forum Replies Last Post
Breaker Box Ground Wire ChollaBob Electrical and Wiring 5 10-20-2011 07:53 PM
Oven, How to wire a 4 wire oven to 3 wire recepticle dacrew4009 Electrical and Wiring 6 03-17-2010 09:18 PM
120v on ground wire Milwaukean Electrical and Wiring 1 12-31-2008 03:58 PM
Question on shared ground/neutral buss in breaker box banyan Electrical and Wiring 5 06-29-2008 01:39 AM
interesting ground wire hawkestone Electrical and Wiring 10 07-23-2006 02:26 PM

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS