DIY Home Improvement, Remodeling & Repair Forum > DIY Home Improvement > Framing and Foundation > To replace wood center beam with steel?

Old 04-04-2012, 03:01 AM  
strategery

Default To replace wood center beam with steel?

My living room floor sags a little and my front door sticks. I asked a foundation company what to do about it because it makes me nervous and they told me that they'd recommend replacing my old wood center beam with a new steel one with 3-5 support posts. What concerns me is that this is a house built in 1919 and it's a terra cotta red block foundation. I'm not an engineer by any stretch, but can my foundation handle a steel beam like this?

It would be nice to level my floor and hopefully get the front door working properly again, but I don't want to screw up my foundation necessitating another fix.

Also, when I had my house inspected a couple years ago before I bought it, my inspector recommended that I replace my wood beam support posts with steel ones. That's why I contacted the foundation repair company - to have those replaced and tell them about my floor sagging.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2012, 07:25 AM  
JoeD
Contractor

Liked 108 Times on 88 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Why does it need to be replaced? Is it rotted ar damaged some how? Can't they just add the support under the existing beam?

Old 04-04-2012, 10:27 AM  
strategery

It's twisted and it's not as straight as it once was. I imagine they recommend the replacement because it's a better beam and it costs about the same as shoring up the old wood one? I don't know I'll have to ask.

Old 04-04-2012, 03:10 PM  
StainlessRailingGirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeD View Post
Why does it need to be replaced? Is it rotted ar damaged some how? Can't they just add the support under the existing beam?

I was just going to say the same thing-adding support should fix the problem.

Foundation tho, to me, sounds like the culprit here.